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  • Les vidéos

    21 avril 2011, par

    Comme les documents de type "audio", Mediaspip affiche dans la mesure du possible les vidéos grâce à la balise html5 .
    Un des inconvénients de cette balise est qu’elle n’est pas reconnue correctement par certains navigateurs (Internet Explorer pour ne pas le nommer) et que chaque navigateur ne gère en natif que certains formats de vidéos.
    Son avantage principal quant à lui est de bénéficier de la prise en charge native de vidéos dans les navigateur et donc de se passer de l’utilisation de Flash et (...)

  • Websites made ​​with MediaSPIP

    2 mai 2011, par

    This page lists some websites based on MediaSPIP.

  • Possibilité de déploiement en ferme

    12 avril 2011, par

    MediaSPIP peut être installé comme une ferme, avec un seul "noyau" hébergé sur un serveur dédié et utilisé par une multitude de sites différents.
    Cela permet, par exemple : de pouvoir partager les frais de mise en œuvre entre plusieurs projets / individus ; de pouvoir déployer rapidement une multitude de sites uniques ; d’éviter d’avoir à mettre l’ensemble des créations dans un fourre-tout numérique comme c’est le cas pour les grandes plate-formes tout public disséminées sur le (...)

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  • Developing MobyCAIRO

    26 mai 2021, par Multimedia Mike — General

    I recently published a tool called MobyCAIRO. The ‘CAIRO’ part stands for Computer-Assisted Image ROtation, while the ‘Moby’ prefix refers to its role in helping process artifact image scans to submit to the MobyGames database. The tool is meant to provide an accelerated workflow for rotating and cropping image scans. It works on both Windows and Linux. Hopefully, it can solve similar workflow problems for other people.

    As of this writing, MobyCAIRO has not been tested on Mac OS X yet– I expect some issues there that should be easily solvable if someone cares to test it.

    The rest of this post describes my motivations and how I arrived at the solution.

    Background
    I have scanned well in excess of 2100 images for MobyGames and other purposes in the past 16 years or so. The workflow looks like this :


    Workflow diagram

    Image workflow


    It should be noted that my original workflow featured me manually rotating the artifact on the scanner bed in order to ensure straightness, because I guess I thought that rotate functions in image editing programs constituted dark, unholy magic or something. So my workflow used to be even more arduous :


    Longer workflow diagram

    I can’t believe I had the patience to do this for hundreds of scans


    Sometime last year, I was sitting down to perform some more scanning and found myself dreading the oncoming tedium of straightening and cropping the images. This prompted a pivotal question :


    Why can’t a computer do this for me ?

    After all, I have always been a huge proponent of making computers handle the most tedious, repetitive, mind-numbing, and error-prone tasks. So I did some web searching to find if there were any solutions that dealt with this. I also consulted with some like-minded folks who have to cope with the same tedious workflow.

    I came up empty-handed. So I endeavored to develop my own solution.

    Problem Statement and Prior Work

    I want to develop a workflow that can automatically rotate an image so that it is straight, and also find the most likely crop rectangle, uniformly whitening the area outside of the crop area (in the case of circles).

    As mentioned, I checked to see if any other programs can handle this, starting with my usual workhorse, Photoshop Elements. But I can’t expect the trimmed down version to do everything. I tried to find out if its big brother could handle the task, but couldn’t find a definitive answer on that. Nor could I find any other tools that seem to take an interest in optimizing this particular workflow.

    When I brought this up to some peers, I received some suggestions, including an idea that the venerable GIMP had a feature like this, but I could not find any evidence. Further, I would get responses of “Program XYZ can do image rotation and cropping.” I had to tamp down on the snark to avoid saying “Wow ! An image editor that can perform rotation AND cropping ? What a game-changer !” Rotation and cropping features are table stakes for any halfway competent image editor for the last 25 or so years at least. I am hoping to find or create a program which can lend a bit of programmatic assistance to the task.

    Why can’t other programs handle this ? The answer seems fairly obvious : Image editing tools are general tools and I want a highly customized workflow. It’s not reasonable to expect a turnkey solution to do this.

    Brainstorming An Approach
    I started with the happiest of happy cases— A disc that needed archiving (a marketing/press assets CD-ROM from a video game company, contents described here) which appeared to have some pretty clear straight lines :


    Ubisoft 2004 Product Catalog CD-ROM

    My idea was to try to find straight lines in the image and then rotate the image so that the image is parallel to the horizontal based on the longest single straight line detected.

    I just needed to figure out how to find a straight line inside of an image. Fortunately, I quickly learned that this is very much a solved problem thanks to something called the Hough transform. As a bonus, I read that this is also the tool I would want to use for finding circles, when I got to that part. The nice thing about knowing the formal algorithm to use is being able to find efficient, optimized libraries which already implement it.

    Early Prototype
    A little searching for how to perform a Hough transform in Python led me first to scikit. I was able to rapidly produce a prototype that did some basic image processing. However, running the Hough transform directly on the image and rotating according to the longest line segment discovered turned out not to yield expected results.


    Sub-optimal rotation

    It also took a very long time to chew on the 3300×3300 raw image– certainly longer than I care to wait for an accelerated workflow concept. The key, however, is that you are apparently not supposed to run the Hough transform on a raw image– you need to compute the edges first, and then attempt to determine which edges are ‘straight’. The recommended algorithm for this step is the Canny edge detector. After applying this, I get the expected rotation :


    Perfect rotation

    The algorithm also completes in a few seconds. So this is a good early result and I was feeling pretty confident. But, again– happiest of happy cases. I should also mention at this point that I had originally envisioned a tool that I would simply run against a scanned image and it would automatically/magically make the image straight, followed by a perfect crop.

    Along came my MobyGames comrade Foxhack to disabuse me of the hope of ever developing a fully automated tool. Just try and find a usefully long straight line in this :


    Nascar 07 Xbox Scan, incorrectly rotated

    Darn it, Foxhack…

    There are straight edges, to be sure. But my initial brainstorm of rotating according to the longest straight edge looks infeasible. Further, it’s at this point that we start brainstorming that perhaps we could match on ratings badges such as the standard ESRB badges omnipresent on U.S. video games. This gets into feature detection and complicates things.

    This Needs To Be Interactive
    At this point in the effort, I came to terms with the fact that the solution will need to have some element of interactivity. I will also need to get out of my safe Linux haven and figure out how to develop this on a Windows desktop, something I am not experienced with.

    I initially dreamed up an impressive beast of a program written in C++ that leverages Windows desktop GUI frameworks, OpenGL for display and real-time rotation, GPU acceleration for image analysis and processing tricks, and some novel input concepts. I thought GPU acceleration would be crucial since I have a fairly good GPU on my main Windows desktop and I hear that these things are pretty good at image processing.

    I created a list of prototyping tasks on a Trello board and made a decent amount of headway on prototyping all the various pieces that I would need to tie together in order to make this a reality. But it was ultimately slowgoing when you can only grab an hour or 2 here and there to try to get anything done.

    Settling On A Solution
    Recently, I was determined to get a set of old shareware discs archived. I ripped the data a year ago but I was blocked on the scanning task because I knew that would also involve tedious straightening and cropping. So I finally got all the scans done, which was reasonably quick. But I was determined to not manually post-process them.

    This was fairly recent, but I can’t quite recall how I managed to come across the OpenCV library and its Python bindings. OpenCV is an amazing library that provides a significant toolbox for performing image processing tasks. Not only that, it provides “just enough” UI primitives to be able to quickly create a basic GUI for your program, including image display via multiple windows, buttons, and keyboard/mouse input. Furthermore, OpenCV seems to be plenty fast enough to do everything I need in real time, just with (accelerated where appropriate) CPU processing.

    So I went to work porting the ideas from the simple standalone Python/scikit tool. I thought of a refinement to the straight line detector– instead of just finding the longest straight edge, it creates a histogram of 360 rotation angles, and builds a list of lines corresponding to each angle. Then it sorts the angles by cumulative line length and allows the user to iterate through this list, which will hopefully provide the most likely straightened angle up front. Further, the tool allows making fine adjustments by 1/10 of an angle via the keyboard, not the mouse. It does all this while highlighting in red the straight line segments that are parallel to the horizontal axis, per the current candidate angle.


    MobyCAIRO - rotation interface

    The tool draws a light-colored grid over the frame to aid the user in visually verifying the straightness of the image. Further, the program has a mode that allows the user to see the algorithm’s detected edges :


    MobyCAIRO - show detected lines

    For the cropping phase, the program uses the Hough circle transform in a similar manner, finding the most likely circles (if the image to be processed is supposed to be a circle) and allowing the user to cycle among them while making precise adjustments via the keyboard, again, rather than the mouse.


    MobyCAIRO - assisted circle crop

    Running the Hough circle transform is a significantly more intensive operation than the line transform. When I ran it on a full 3300×3300 image, it ran for a long time. I didn’t let it run longer than a minute before forcibly ending the program. Is this approach unworkable ? Not quite– It turns out that the transform is just as effective when shrinking the image to 400×400, and completes in under 2 seconds on my Core i5 CPU.

    For rectangular cropping, I just settled on using OpenCV’s built-in region-of-interest (ROI) facility. I tried to intelligently find the best candidate rectangle and allow fine adjustments via the keyboard, but I wasn’t having much success, so I took a path of lesser resistance.

    Packaging and Residual Weirdness
    I realized that this tool would be more useful to a broader Windows-using base of digital preservationists if they didn’t have to install Python, establish a virtual environment, and install the prerequisite dependencies. Thus, I made the effort to figure out how to wrap the entire thing up into a monolithic Windows EXE binary. It is available from the project’s Github release page (another thing I figured out for the sake of this project !).

    The binary is pretty heavy, weighing in at a bit over 50 megabytes. You might advise using compression– it IS compressed ! Before I figured out the --onefile command for pyinstaller.exe, the generated dist/ subdirectory was 150 MB. Among other things, there’s a 30 MB FORTRAN BLAS library packaged in !

    Conclusion and Future Directions
    Once I got it all working with a simple tkinter UI up front in order to select between circle and rectangle crop modes, I unleashed the tool on 60 or so scans in bulk, using the Windows forfiles command (another learning experience). I didn’t put a clock on the effort, but it felt faster. Of course, I was livid with proudness the whole time because I was using my own tool. I just wish I had thought of it sooner. But, really, with 2100+ scans under my belt, I’m just getting started– I literally have thousands more artifacts to scan for preservation.

    The tool isn’t perfect, of course. Just tonight, I threw another scan at MobyCAIRO. Just go ahead and try to find straight lines in this specimen :


    Reading Who? Reading You! CD-ROM

    I eventually had to use the text left and right of center to line up against the grid with the manual keyboard adjustments. Still, I’m impressed by how these computer vision algorithms can see patterns I can’t, highlighting lines I never would have guessed at.

    I’m eager to play with OpenCV some more, particularly the video processing functions, perhaps even some GPU-accelerated versions.

    The post Developing MobyCAIRO first appeared on Breaking Eggs And Making Omelettes.

  • A Beginner’s Guide to Omnichannel Analytics

    14 avril 2024, par Erin

    Linear customer journeys are as obsolete as dial-up internet and floppy disks. As a marketing manager, you know better than anyone that customers interact with your brand hundreds of times across dozens of channels before purchasing. That can make tracking them a nightmare unless you build an omnichannel analytics solution. 

    Alas, if only it were that simple. 

    Unfortunately, it’s not enough to collect data on your customers’ complex journeys just by buying an omnichannel platform. You need to generate actionable insights by using marketing attribution to tie channels to conversions. 

    This article will explain how to build a useful omnichannel analytics solution that lets you understand and improve the customer journey.

    What is omnichannel analytics ?

    Omnichannel analytics collects and analyses customer data from every touchpoint and device. The goal is to collect all this omnichannel data in one place, creating a single, real-time, unified view of your customer’s journey.

    What is omnichannel analytics

    Unfortunately, most businesses haven’t achieved this yet. As Karen Lellouche Tordjman and Marco Bertini say :

    “Despite all the buzz around the concept of omnichannel, most companies still view customer journeys as a linear sequence of standardised touchpoints within a given channel. But the future of customer engagement transforms touchpoints from nodes along a predefined distribution path to full-blown portals that can serve as points of sale or pathways to many other digital and virtual interactions. They link to chatbots, kiosks, robo-advisors, and other tools that customers — especially younger ones — want to engage with.”

    However, doing so is more important than ever — especially when consumers have over 300 digital touchpoints, and the average number of touchpoints in the B2B buyer journey is 27.

    Not only that, but customers expect personalised experiences across every platform — that’s the kind you can only create when you have access to omnichannel data.

    A diagram showing how complex customer journeys are

    What might omnichannel analytics look like in practice for an e-commerce store ?

    An online store would integrate data from channels like its website, mobile app, social media accounts, Google Ads and customer service records. This would show how customers find its brand, how they use each channel to interact with it and which channels convert the most customers. 

    This would allow the e-commerce store to tailor marketing channels to customers’ needs. For instance, they could focus social media use on product discovery and customer support. Google Ads campaigns could target the best-converting products. While all this is happening, the store could also ensure every channel looks the same and delivers the same experience. 

    What are the benefits of omnichannel analytics ?

    Why go to all the trouble of creating a comprehensive view of the customer’s experience ? Because you stand to gain some pretty significant benefits when implementing omnichannel analytics.

    What are the benefits of omnichannel analytics?

    Understand the customer journey

    You want to understand how your customers behave, right ? No other method will allow you to fully understand your customer journey the way omnichannel analytics does. 

    It doesn’t matter how customers engage with your brand — whether that’s your website, app, social media profiles or physical stores — omnichannel analytics capture every interaction.

    With this 360-degree view of your customers, it’s easy to understand how they move between channels, where they encounter issues and what bottlenecks prevent them from converting. 

    Deliver better personalisation

    We don’t have to tell you that personalisation matters. But do you know just how important it is ? Since 56% of customers will become repeat buyers after a personalised experience, delivering them as often as possible is critical. 

    Omnichannel analytics helps in your quest for personalisation by highlighting the individual preferences of customer segments. For example, e-commerce stores can use omnichannel analytics to understand how shoppers behave across different devices and tailor their offers accordingly. 

    Upgrade the customer experience

    Omnichannel analytics gives you the insights to improve every aspect of the customer experience. 

    For starters, you can ensure a consistent brand experience across all your top channels by making sure they look and behave the same.

    Then, you can use omnichannel insights to tailor each channel to your customers’ requirements. For example, most people interacting with your brand on social media may seek support. Knowing that you can create dedicated support accounts to assist users. 

    Improve marketing campaigns

    Which marketing campaigns or traffic sources convert the most customers ? How can you improve these campaigns ? Omnichannel analytics has the answers. 

    When you implement omnichannel analytics you automatically track the performance of every marketing channel by attributing each conversion to one or more traffic sources. This lets you see whether Google Ads bring in more customers than your SEO efforts. Or whether social media ads are the most profitable acquisition channel. 

    Armed with this information, you can improve your marketing efforts — either by focusing on your profitable channels or rectifying problems that stop less profitable channels from converting.

    What are the challenges of omnichannel analytics ?

    There are three challenges when implementing an omnichannel analytics solution :

    What are the challenges of omnichannel analytics?
    • Complex customer journeys : Customer journeys aren’t linear and can be incredibly difficult to track. 
    • Regulatory and privacy issues : When you start gathering customer data, you quickly come up against consumer privacy laws. 
    • No underlying goal : There has to be a reason to go to all this effort, but brands don’t always have goals in mind before they start. 

    You can’t do anything about the first challenge. 

    After all, your customer journey will almost never be linear. And isn’t the point of implementing an omnichannel solution to understand these complex journeys in the first place ? Once you set up omnichannel analytics, these journeys will be much easier to decipher. 

    As for the other two :

    Using the right software that respects user privacy and complies with all major privacy laws will avoid regulatory issues. Take Matomo, for instance. Our software was designed with privacy in mind and is configured to follow the strictest privacy laws, such as GDPR. 

    Tying omnichannel analytics to marketing attribution will solve the final challenge by giving your omnichannel efforts a goal. When you tie omnichannel analytics to your marketing efforts, you aren’t just getting a 360-degree view of your customer journey for the sake of it. You are getting that view to improve your marketing efforts and increase sales.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    How to set up an omnichannel analytics solution

    Want to set up a seamless analytical environment that incorporates data from every possible source ? Follow these five steps :

    Choose one or more analytics providers

    You can use several tools to build an omnichannel analytics solution. These include web and app analytics tools, customer data platforms that centralise first-party data and business intelligence tools (typically used for visualisation). 

    Which tools you use will depend on your goals and your budget — the loftier your ambitions and the higher your budget, the more tools you can use. 

    Ideally, you should use as few tools as possible to capture your data. Most teams won’t need business intelligence platforms, for example. However, you may or may not need both an analytics platform and a customer data platform. Your decision will depend on how many channels your customers use and how well your analytics tool tracks everything.

    If it can capture web and app usage while integrating with third-party platforms like your back-end e-commerce platform, then it’s probably enough.

    Collect accurate data at every touchpoint 

    Your omnichannel analytics efforts hinge on the quantity and quality of data you can collect. You want to gather data from every touchpoint possible and store that data in as few places as possible. That’s why choosing as few tools as possible in the step above is so important. 

    So, where should you start ? Common data sources include :

    • Your website
    • Apps (iOS and Android)
    • Social media profiles
    • ERPs
    • PoS systems

    At the same time, make sure you’re tracking all relevant metrics. Revenue, customer engagement and conversion-focused metrics like conversion rate, dwell time, cart abandonment rate and churn rate are particularly important. 

    Set up marketing attribution

    Setting up marketing attribution (also known as multi-touch attribution) is essential to tie omnichannel data to business goals. It’s the only way to know exactly how valuable each marketing channel is and where each customer comes from. 

    You’ll want to use multi-touch attribution, given you have data from across the customer journey.

    Image of six different attribution models

    Multi-touch attribution models can include (but are not limited to) :

    • Linear : where each touchpoint is given equal weighting
    • Time decay : where touchpoints are more valuable the nearer they are to conversion
    • Position-based : where the first and last touch points are more valuable than all the others. 

    You don’t have to use just one of the models above, however. One of the benefits of using a web analytics tool like Matomo is that you can choose between different attribution models and compare them.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    Create reports that help you visualise data

    Dashboards are your friend here. They’ll let you see KPIs at a glance, allowing you to keep track of day-to-day changes in your customer journey. Ideally, you’ll want a platform that lets you customise dashboard widgets so only relevant KPIs are shown. 

    A custom graph created in Matomo

    Setting up standard and custom reports is also important. Custom reports allow you to choose metrics and dimensions that align with your goals. They will also allow you to present your data most meaningfully to your team, increasing the likelihood they act upon insights. 

    Analyse data and take action

    Now that you have customer journey data at your fingertips, it’s time to analyse it. After all, there’s no point in implementing an omnichannel analytics solution if you aren’t going to take action. 

    If you’re unsure where to start, re-read the benefits we listed at the start of this article. You could use your omnichannel insights to improve your marketing campaigns by doubling down on the channels that bring in the best customers.

    Or you could identify (and fix) bottlenecks in the customer journey so customers are less likely to fall out of your funnel between certain channels. 

    Just make sure you take action based on your data alone.

    Make the most of omnichannel analytics with Matomo

    A comprehensive web and app analytics platform is vital to any omnichannel analytics strategy. 

    But not just any solution will do. When privacy regulations impede an omnichannel analytics solution, you need a platform to capture accurate data without breaking privacy laws or your users’ trust. 

    That’s where Matomo comes in. Our privacy-friendly web analytics platform ensures accurate tracking of web traffic while keeping you compliant with even the strictest regulations. Moreover, our range of APIs and SDKs makes it easy to track interactions from all your digital products (website, apps, e-commerce back-ends, etc.) in one place. 

    Try Matomo for free for 21 days. No credit card required.

  • What Is Incrementality & Why Is It Important in Marketing ?

    26 mars 2024, par Erin

    Imagine this : you just launched your latest campaign and it was a major success.

    You blew last month’s results out of the water.

    You combined a variety of tactics, channels and ad creatives to make it work.

    Now, it’s time to build the next campaign.

    The only issue ?

    You don’t know what made it successful or how much your recent efforts impacted the results.

    You’ve been building your brand for years. You’ve built up a variety of marketing pillars that are working for you. So, how do you know how much of your campaign is from years of effort or a new tactic you just implemented ?

    The key is incrementality.

    This is a way to properly attribute the right weight to your marketing tactics.

    In this article, we break down what incrementality is in marketing, how it differs from traditional attribution and how you can calculate and track it to grow your business.

    What is incrementality in marketing ?

    Incrementality in marketing is growth that can be directly credited to a marketing effort above and beyond the success of the branding.

    It looks at how much a specific tactic positively impacted a campaign on top of overall branding and marketing strategies.

    What is incrementally in marketing?

    For example, this could be how much a specific tactic, campaign or channel helped increase conversions, email sign-ups or organic traffic.

    The primary purpose of incrementally in marketing is to more accurately determine the impact a single marketing variable had on the success of a project.

    It removes every other factor and isolates the specific method to help marketers double down on that strategy or move on to new tactics.

    With Matomo, you can track conversions simply. With our last non-direct channel attribution system, you’ll be able to quickly see what channels are converting (and which aren’t) so you can gain insights into incrementality. 

    See why over 1 million websites choose Matomo today.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    How incrementality differs from attribution

    In marketing and advertising, it’s crucial to understand what tactics and activities drive growth.

    Incrementality and attribution help marketers and business owners understand what efforts impact their results.

    But they’re not the same.

    Here’s how they differ :

    Incrementality vs. attribution

    Incrementality explained

    Incrementality measures how much a specific marketing campaign or activity drives additional sales or growth.

    Simply put, it’s analysing the difference between having never implemented the campaign (or tactic or channel) in the first place versus the impact of the activity.

    In other words, how much revenue would you have generated this month without campaign A ?

    And how much additional revenue did you generate directly due to campaign A ?

    The reality is that dozens of factors impact revenue and growth.

    You aren’t just pouring your marketing into one specific channel or campaign at a time.

    Chances are, you’ve got your hands on several marketing initiatives like SEO, PPC, organic social media, paid search, email marketing and more.

    Beyond that, you’ve built a brand with a not-so-tangible impact on your recurring revenue.

    So, the question is, if you took away your new campaign, would you still be generating the same amount of revenue ?

    And, if you add in that campaign, how much additional revenue and growth did it directly create ?

    That is incrementality. It’s how much a campaign went above and beyond to add new revenue that wouldn’t have been there otherwise.

    So, how does attribution play into all of this ?

    Attribution explained

    Attribution is simply the process of assigning credit for a conversion to a particular marketing touchpoint.

    While incrementality is about narrowing down the overall revenue impact from a particular campaign, attribution seeks to point to a specific channel to attribute a sale.

    For example, in any given marketing campaign, you have a few marketing tactics.

    Let’s say you’re launching a limited-time product.

    You might have :

    • Paid ads via Facebook and Instagram
    • A blog post sharing how the product works
    • Organic social media posts on Instagram and TikTok
    • Email waitlist campaign building excitement around the upcoming product
    • SMS campaigns to share a limited-time discount

    So, when the time comes for the sale launch, and you generate $30,000 in revenue, what channel gets the credit ?

    Do you give credit to the paid ads on Facebook ? What about Instagram ? They got people to follow you and got them on the email waitlist.

    Do you give credit to email for reminding people of the upcoming sale ? What about your social media posts that reminded people there ?

    Or do you credit your SMS campaign that shared a limited-time discount ?

    Which channel is responsible for the sale ?

    This is what attribution is all about.

    It’s about giving credit where credit is due.

    The reason you want to attribute credit ? So you know what’s working and can double down your efforts on the high-impact marketing activities and channels.

    Leveraging incrementality and attribution together

    Incrementality and attribution aren’t competing methods of analysing what’s working.

    They’re complementary to one another and go hand in hand.

    You can (and should) use attribution and incrementality in your marketing to help understand what activities, campaigns and channels are making the biggest incremental impact on your business growth.

    Why it’s important to measure incrementality

    Incrementality is crucial to measure if you want to pour your time, money and effort into the right marketing channels and tactics.

    Here are a few reasons why you need to measure incrementality if you want to be successful with your marketing and grow your business :

    1. Accurate data

    If you want to be an effective marketer, you need to be accurate.

    You can’t blindly start marketing campaigns in hopes that you will sell many products or services.

    That’s not how it works.

    Sure, you’ll probably make some sales here and there. But to truly be effective with your work, you must measure your activities and channels correctly.

    Incrementality helps you see how each channel, tactic or campaign made a difference in your marketing.

    Matomo gives you 100% accurate data on your website activities. Unlike Google Analytics, we don’t use data sampling which limits how much data is analysed.

    Screenshot example of the Matomo dashboard

    2. Helps you to best determine the right tactics for success

    How can you plan your marketing strategy if you don’t know what’s working ?

    Think about it.

    You’ll be blindly sailing the seas without a compass telling you where to go.

    Measuring incrementality in your marketing tactics and channels helps you understand the best tactics.

    It shows you what’s moving the needle (and what’s not).

    Once you can see the most impactful tactics and channels, you can forge future campaigns that you know will work.

    3. Allows you to get the most out of your marketing budget

    Since incrementality sheds light on what’s moving your business forward, you can confidently implement your efforts on the right tactics and channels.

    Guess what happens when you start doubling down on the most impactful activities ?

    You start increasing revenue, decreasing ad spend and getting a higher return on investment.

    The result is that you will get more out of your marketing budget.

    Not only will you boost revenue, but you’ll also be able to boost profit margins since you’re not wasting money on ineffective tactics.

    4. Increase traffic

    When you see what’s truly working in your business, you can figure out what channels and tactics you should be working.

    Incrementality helps you understand not only what your best revenue tactics are but also what channels and campaigns are bringing in the most traffic.

    When you can increase traffic, you can increase your overall marketing impact.

    5. Increase revenue

    Finally, with increased traffic, the inevitable result is more conversions.

    More conversions mean more revenue.

    Incrementality gives you a vision of the tactics and channels that are converting the best.

    If you can see that your SMS campaigns are driving the best ROI, then you know that you’ll grow your revenue by pouring more into acquiring SMS leads.

    By calculating incrementality regularly, you can rest assured that you’re only investing time and money into the most impactful activities in terms of revenue generation.

    How to calculate and test incrementality in marketing

    Now that you understand how incrementality works and why it’s important to calculate, the question is : 

    How do you calculate and conduct incrementality tests ?

    Given the ever-changing marketing landscape, it’s crucial to understand how to calculate and test incrementally in your business.

    If you’re not sure how incrementality testing works, then follow these simple steps :

    How to test and analyze incrementality in marketing?

    Your first step to get an incrementality measurement is to conduct what’s referred to as a “holdout test.”

    It’s not a robust test, but it’s an easy way to get the ball rolling with incrementality.

    Here’s how it works :

    1. Choose your target audience.

    With Matomo’s segmentation feature, you can get pretty specific with your target audience, such as :

      • Visitors from the UK
      • Returning visitors
      • Mobile users
      • Visitors who clicked on a specific ad
    1. Split your audience into two groups :
      • Control group (60% of the segment)
      • Test group (40% of the segment)
    1. Target the control group with your marketing tactic (the simpler the tactic, the better).
    1. Target the test group with a different marketing tactic.
    1. Analyse the results. The difference between the control and test groups is the incremental lift in results. The new marketing tactic is either more effective or not.
    1. Repeat the test with a new control group (with an updated tactic) and a new test group (with a new tactic).

    Matomo can help you analyse the results of your campaigns in our Goals feature. Set up business objectives so you can easily track different goals like conversions.

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    Here’s an example of how this incrementality testing could look in real life.

    Imagine a fitness retailer wants to start showing Facebook ads in their marketing mix.

    The marketing manager decided to conduct a holdout test. If we match our example below with the steps above, this is how the holdout test might look.

    1. They choose people who’ve purchased free weights in the past as their target audience (see how that segmentation works ?).
    2. They split this segment into a control group and a test group.
    3. For this test, they direct their regular marketing campaign to the control group (60% of the segment). The campaign includes promoting a 20% off sale on organic social media posts, email marketing, and SMS.
    4. They direct their regular marketing campaign plus Facebook ads to the test group (40% of the segment).
    5. They ran the campaign for three weeks with the goal for sale conversions and noticed :
      • The control group had a 1.5% conversion rate.
      • The test group (with Facebook ads) had a 2.1% conversion rate.
      • In this scenario, they could see the group who saw the Facebook ads convert better.
      • They created the following formula to measure the incremental lift of the Facebook ads :
    Calculation: Incrementality in marketing.
      • Here’s how the calculation works out : (2.1% – 1.5%) / 1.5% = 40%

    The Facebook ads had a positive 40% incremental lift in conversions during the sale.

    Incrementality testing isn’t a one-and-done process, though.

    While this first test is a great sign for the marketing manager, it doesn’t mean they should immediately throw all their money into Facebook ads.

    They should continue conducting tests to verify the initial test.

    Use Matomo to track incrementality today

    Incrementality can give you insights into exactly what’s working in your marketing (and what’s not) so you can design proven strategies to grow your business.

    If you want more help tracking your marketing efforts, try Matomo today.

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    Matomo provides 100% accurate data. Unlike other major web analytics platforms, we don’t do data sampling. What you see is what’s really going on in your website. That way, you can make more informed decisions for better results.

    At Matomo, we take privacy very seriously and include several advanced privacy protections to ensure you are in full control.

    As a fully compliant web analytics solution, we’re fully compliant with some of the world’s strictest privacy regulations like GDPR. With Matomo, you get peace of mind knowing you can make data-driven decisions while also being compliant. 

    If you’re ready to launch a data-driven marketing strategy today and grow your business, get started with our 21-day free trial now. No credit card required.