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List of compatible distributions
26 avril 2011, par kent1The table below is the list of Linux distributions compatible with the automated installation script of MediaSPIP. Distribution nameVersion nameVersion number Debian Squeeze 6.x.x Debian Weezy 7.x.x Debian Jessie 8.x.x Ubuntu The Precise Pangolin 12.04 LTS Ubuntu The Trusty Tahr 14.04
If you want to help us improve this list, you can provide us access to a machine whose distribution is not mentioned above or send the necessary fixes to add (...) -
Submit bugs and patches
13 avril 2011Unfortunately a software is never perfect.
If you think you have found a bug, report it using our ticket system. Please to help us to fix it by providing the following information : the browser you are using, including the exact version as precise an explanation as possible of the problem if possible, the steps taken resulting in the problem a link to the site / page in question
If you think you have solved the bug, fill in a ticket and attach to it a corrective patch.
You may also (...) -
Contribute to a better visual interface
13 avril 2011MediaSPIP is based on a system of themes and templates. Templates define the placement of information on the page, and can be adapted to a wide range of uses. Themes define the overall graphic appearance of the site.
Anyone can submit a new graphic theme or template and make it available to the MediaSPIP community.
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Is Google Analytics Accurate ? 6 Important Caveats
8 novembre 2022, par ErinIt’s no secret that accurate website analytics is crucial for growing your online business — and Google Analytics is often the go-to source for insights.
But is Google Analytics data accurate ? Can you fully trust the provided numbers ? Here’s a detailed explainer.
How Accurate is Google Analytics ? A Data-Backed Answer
When properly configured, Google Analytics (Universal Analytics and Google Analytics 4) is moderately accurate for global traffic collection. That said : Google Analytics doesn’t accurately report European traffic.
According to GDPR provisions, sites using GA products must display a cookie consent banner. This consent is required to collect third-party cookies — a tracking mechanism for identifying users across web properties.
Google Analytics (GA) cannot process data about the user’s visit if they rejected cookies. In such cases, your analytics reports will be incomplete.
Cookie rejection refers to visitors declining or blocking cookies from ever being collected by a specific website (or within their browser). It immediately affects the accuracy of all metrics in Google Analytics.
Google Analytics is not accurate in locations where cookie consent to tracking is legally required. Most consumers don’t like disruptive cookie banners or harbour concerns about their privacy — and chose to reject tracking.
This leaves businesses with incomplete data, which, in turn, results in :
- Lower traffic counts as you’re not collecting 100% of the visitor data.
- Loss of website optimisation capabilities. You can’t make data-backed decisions due to inconsistent reporting
For the above reasons, many companies now consider cookieless website tracking apps that don’t require consent screen displays.
Why is Google Analytics Not Accurate ? 6 Causes and Solutions
A high rejection rate of cookie banners is the main reason for inaccurate Google Analytics reporting. In addition, your account settings can also hinder Google Analytics’ accuracy.
If your analytics data looks wonky, check for these six Google Analytics accuracy problems.
You Need to Secure Consent to Cookies Collection
To be GDPR-compliant, you must display a cookie consent screen to all European users. Likewise, other jurisdictions and industries require similar measures for user data collection.
This is a nuisance for many businesses since cookie rejection undermines their remarketing capabilities. Hence, some try to maximise cookie acceptance rates with dark patterns. For example : hide the option to decline tracking or make the texts too small.
Banner on the left doesn’t provide an evident option to reject all cookies and nudges the user to accept tracking. Banner on the right does a better job explaining the purpose of data collection and offers a straightforward yes/no selection Sadly, not everyone’s treating users with respect. A joint study by German and American researchers found that only 11% of US websites (from a sample of 5,000+) use GDPR-compliant cookie banners.
As a result, many users aren’t aware of the background data collection to which they have (or have not) given consent. Another analysis of 200,000 cookies discovered that 70% of third-party marketing cookies transfer user data outside of the EU — a practice in breach of GDPR.
Naturally, data regulators and activities are after this issue. In April 2022, Google was pressured to introduce a ‘reject all’ cookies button to all of its products (a €150 million compliance fine likely helped with that). Whereas, noyb has lodged over 220 complaints against individual websites with deceptive cookie consent banners.
The takeaway ? Messing up with the cookie consent mechanism can get you in legal trouble. Don’t use sneaky banners as there are better ways to collect website traffic statistics.
Solution : Try Matomo GDPR-Friendly Analytics
Fill in the gaps in your traffic analytics with Matomo – a fully GDPR-compliant product that doesn’t rely on third-party cookies for tracking web visitors. Because of how it is designed, the French data protection authority (CNIL) confirmed that Matomo can be used to collect data without tracking consent.
With Matomo, you can track website users without asking for cookie consent. And when you do, we supply you with a compact, compliant, non-disruptive cookie banner design.
Your Google Tag Isn’t Embedded Correctly
Google Tag (gtag.js) is a web tracking script that sends data to your Google Analytics, Google Ads and Google Marketing Platform.
A corrupted gtag.js installation can create two accuracy issues :
- Duplicate page tracking
- Missing script installation
Is there a way to tell if you’re affected ?
Yes. You may have duplicate scripts installed if you have a very low bounce rate on most website pages (below 15% – 20%). The above can happen if you’re using a WordPress GA plugin and additionally embed gtag.js straight in your website code.
A tell-tale sign of a missing script on some pages is low/no traffic stats. Google alerts you about this with a banner :
Solution : Use Available Troubleshooting Tools
Use Google Analytics Debugger extension to analyse pages with low bounce rates. Use the search bar to locate duplicate code-tracking elements.
Alternatively, you can use Google Tag Assistant for diagnosing snippet install and troubleshooting issues on individual pages.
If the above didn’t work, re-install your analytics script.
Machine Learning and Blended Data Are Applied
Google Analytics 4 (GA4) relies a lot on machine learning and algorithmic predictions.
By applying Google’s advanced machine learning models, the new Analytics can automatically alert you to significant trends in your data. [...] For example, it calculates churn probability so you can more efficiently invest in retaining customers.
On the surface, the above sounds exciting. In practice, Google’s application of predictive algorithms means you’re not seeing actual data.
To offer a variation of cookieless tracking, Google algorithms close the gaps in reporting by creating models (i.e., data-backed predictions) instead of reporting on actual user behaviours. Therefore, your GA4 numbers may not be accurate.
For bigger web properties (think websites with 1+ million users), Google also relies on data sampling — a practice of extrapolating data analytics, based on a data subset, rather than the entire dataset. Once again, this can lead to inconsistencies in reporting with some numbers (e.g., average conversion rates) being inflated or downplayed.
Solution : Try an Alternative Website Analytics App
Unlike GA4, Matomo reports consist of 100% unsampled data. All the aggregated reporting you see is based on real user data (not guesstimation).
Moreover, you can migrate from Universal Analytics (UA) to Matomo without losing access to your historical records. GA4 doesn’t yet have any backward compatibility.
Spam and Bot Traffic Isn’t Filtered Out
Surprise ! 42% of all Internet traffic is generated by bots, of which 27.7% are bad ones.
Good bots (aka crawlers) do essential web “housekeeping” tasks like indexing web pages. Bad bots distribute malware, spam contact forms, hack user accounts and do other nasty stuff.
A lot of such spam bots are designed specifically for web analytics apps. The goal ? Flood your dashboard with bogus data in hopes of getting some return action from your side.
Types of Google Analytics Spam :
- Referral spam. Spambots hijack the referrer, displayed in your GA referral traffic report to indicate a page visit from some random website (which didn’t actually occur).
- Event spam. Bots generate fake events with free language entries enticing you to visit their website.
- Ghost traffic spam. Malicious parties can also inject fake pageviews, containing URLs that they want you to click.
Obviously, such spammy entities distort the real website analytics numbers.
Solution : Set Up Bot/Spam Filters
Google Analytics 4 has automatic filtering of bot traffic enabled for all tracked Web and App properties.
But if you’re using Universal Analytics, you’ll have to manually configure spam filtering. First, create a new view and then set up a custom filter. Program it to exclude :
- Filter Field : Request URI
- Filter Pattern : Bot traffic URL
Once you’ve configured everything, validate the results using Verify this filter feature. Then repeat the process for other fishy URLs, hostnames and IP addresses.
You Don’t Filter Internal Traffic
Your team(s) spend a lot of time on your website — and their sporadic behaviours can impair your traffic counts and other website metrics.
To keep your data “employee-free”, exclude traffic from :
- Your corporate IPs addresses
- Known personal IPs of employees (for remote workers)
If you also have a separate stage version of your website, you should also filter out all traffic coming from it. Your developers, contractors and marketing people spend a lot of time fiddling with your website. This can cause a big discrepancy in average time on page and engagement rates.
Solution : Set Internal Traffic Filters
Google provides instructions for excluding internal traffic from your reports using IPv4/IPv6 address filters.
Session Timeouts After 30 Minutes
After 30 minutes of inactivity, Google Analytics tracking sessions start over. Inactivity means no recorded interaction hits during this time.
Session timeouts can be a problem for some websites as users often pin a tab to check it back later. Because of this, you can count the same user twice or more — and this leads to skewed reporting.
Solution : Programme Custom Timeout Sessions
You can codify custom cookie timeout sessions with the following code snippets :
- _setSessionCookieTimeout. Set a custom new session cookie timeout in milliseconds.
- _setVisitorCookieTimeout. Sets a custom Google Analytics visitor cookie expiration time frame in milliseconds.
Final Thoughts
Thanks to its scale and longevity, Google Analytics has some strong sides, but its data accuracy isn’t 100% perfect.
The inability to capture analytics data from users who don’t consent to cookie tracking and data sampling applied to bigger web properties may be a deal-breaker for your business.
If that’s the case, try Matomo — a GDPR-compliant, accurate web analytics solution. Start your 21-day free trial now. No credit card required.
21 day free trial. No credit card required.
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Open Banking Security 101 : Is open banking safe ?
3 décembre 2024, par Daniel Crough — Banking and Financial ServicesOpen banking is changing the financial industry. Statista reports that open banking transactions hit $57 billion worldwide in 2023 and will likely reach $330 billion by 2027. According to ACI, global real-time payment (RTP) transactions are expected to exceed $575 billion by 2028.
Open banking is changing how banking works, but is it safe ? And what are the data privacy and security implications for global financial service providers ?
This post explains the essentials of open banking security and addresses critical data protection and compliance questions. We’ll explore how a privacy-first approach to data analytics can help you meet regulatory requirements, build customer trust and ultimately thrive in the open banking market while offering innovative financial products.
Discover trends, strategies, and opportunities to balance compliance and competitiveness.
What is open banking ?
Open banking is a system that connects banks, authorised third-party providers and technology, empowering customers to securely share their financial data with other companies. At the same time, it unlocks access to more innovative and personalised financial products and services like spend management solutions, tailored budgeting apps and more convenient payment gateways.
With open banking, consumers have greater choice and control over their financial data, ultimately fostering a more competitive financial industry, supporting technological innovation and paving the way for a more customer-centric financial future.
Imagine offering your clients a service that analyses spending habits across all accounts — no matter the institution — and automatically finds ways to save them money. Envision providing personalised financial advice tailored to individual needs or enabling customers to apply for a mortgage with just a few taps on their phone. That’s the power of open banking.
Embracing this technology is an opportunity for banks and fintech companies to build new solutions for customers who are eager for a more transparent and personalised digital experience.
How is open banking different from traditional banking ?
In traditional banking, consumers’ financial data is locked away and siloed within each bank’s systems, accessible only to the bank and the account holder. While account holders could manually aggregate and share this data, the process is cumbersome and prone to errors.
With open banking, users can choose what data to share and with whom, allowing trusted third-party providers to access their financial information directly from the source.
How does open banking work ?
The technology that makes open banking possible is the application programming interface (API). Think of banking APIs as digital translators for different software systems ; instead of translating languages, they translate data and code.
The bank creates and publishes APIs that provide secure access to specific types of customer data, like credit card transaction history and account balances. The open banking API acts like a friendly librarian, ready to assist apps in accessing the information they need in a secure and organised way.
Third-party providers, like fintech companies, use these APIs to build their applications and services. Some tech companies also act as intermediaries between fintechs and banks to simplify connections to multiple APIs simultaneously.
For example, banks like BBVA (Spain) and Capital One (USA) offer secure API platforms. Fintechs like Plaid and TrueLayer use those banking APIs as a bridge to users’ financial data. This bridge gives other service providers like Venmo, Robinhood and Coinbase access to customer data, allowing them to offer new payment gateways and investment tools that traditional banks don’t provide.
Is open banking safe for global financial services ?
Yes, open banking is designed from the ground up to be safe for global financial services.
Open banking doesn’t make customer financial data publicly available. Instead, it uses a secure, regulated framework for sharing information. This framework relies on strong security measures and regulatory oversight to protect user data and ensure responsible access by authorised third-party providers.
In the following sections, we’ll explore the key security features and banking regulations that make this technology safe and reliable.
Regulatory compliance in open banking
Regulatory oversight is a cornerstone of open banking security.
In the UK and the EU, strict regulations govern how companies access and use customer data. The revised Payment Services Directive (PSD2) in Europe mandates strong customer authentication and secure communication, promoting a high level of security for open banking services.
To offer open banking services, companies must register with their respective regulatory bodies and comply with all applicable data protection laws.
For example, third-party service providers in the UK must be authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and listed on the Financial Services Register. Depending on the service they provide, they must get an Account Information Service Provider (AISP) or a Payment Initiation Service Provider (PISP) license.
Similar regulations and registries exist across Europe, enforced by the European National Competent Authority, like BaFin in Germany and the ACPR in France.
In the United States, open banking providers don’t require a special federal license. However, this will soon change, as the U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) unveiled a series of rules on 22 October 2024 to establish a regulatory framework for open banking.
These regulations ensure that only trusted providers can participate in the open banking ecosystem. Anyone can check if a company is a trusted provider on public databases like the Regulated Providers registry on openbanking.org.uk. While being registered doesn’t guarantee fair play, it adds a layer of safety for consumers and banks.
Key open banking security features that make it safe for global financial services
Open banking is built on a foundation of solid security measures. Let’s explore five key features that make it safe and reliable for financial institutions and their customers.
Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)
Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) is a security principle that protects against unauthorised access to user financial data. It’s a regulated and legally required form of multi-factor authentication (MFA) within the European Economic Area.
SCA mandates that users verify their identity using at least two of the following three factors :
- Something they know (a password, PIN, security question, etc.)
- Something they have (a mobile phone, a hardware token or a bank card)
- Something they are (a fingerprint, facial recognition or voice recognition)
This type of authentication helps reduce the risk of fraud and unauthorised transactions.
API security
PSD2 regulations mandate that banks provide open APIs, giving consumers the right to use any third-party service provider for their online banking services. According to McKinsey research, this has led to a surge in API adoption within the banking sector, with the largest banks allocating 14% of their IT budget to APIs.
To ensure API security, banks and financial service providers implement several measures, including :
- API gateways, which act as a central point of control for all API traffic, enforcing security policies and preventing unauthorised access
- API keys and tokens to authenticate and authorise API requests (the equivalent of a library card for apps)
- Rate limiting to prevent denial-of-service attacks by limiting the number of requests a third-party application can make within a specific timeframe
- Regular security audits and penetration testing to identify and address potential vulnerabilities in the API infrastructure
Data minimisation and purpose limitation
Data minimisation and purpose limitation are fundamental principles of data protection that contribute significantly to open banking safety.
Data minimisation means third parties will collect and process only the data necessary to provide their service. Purpose limitation requires them to use the collected data only for its original purpose.
For example, a budgeting app that helps users track their spending only needs access to transaction history and account balances. It doesn’t need access to the user’s full transaction details, investment portfolio or loan applications.
Limiting the data collected from individual banks significantly reduces the risk of potential misuse or exposure in a data breach.
Encryption
Encryption is a security method that protects data in transit and at rest. It scrambles data into an unreadable format, making it useless to anyone without the decryption key.
In open banking, encryption protects users’ data as it travels between the bank and the third-party provider’s systems via the API. It also protects data stored on the bank’s and the provider’s servers. Encryption ensures that even if a breach occurs, user data remains confidential.
Explicit consent
In open banking, before a third-party provider can access user data, it must first inform the user what data it will pull and why. The customer must then give their explicit consent to the third party collecting and processing that data.
This transparency and control are essential for building trust and ensuring customers feel safe using third-party services.
But beyond that, from the bank’s perspective, explicit customer consent is also vital for compliance with GDPR and other data protection regulations. It can also help limit the bank’s liability in case of a data breach.
Explicit consent goes beyond sharing financial data. It’s also part of new data privacy regulations around tracking user behaviour online. This is where an ethical web analytics solution like Matomo can be invaluable. Matomo fully complies with some of the world’s strictest privacy regulations, like GDPR, lGPD and HIPAA. With Matomo, you get peace of mind knowing you can continue gathering valuable insights to improve your services and user experience while respecting user privacy and adhering to regulations.
Risks of open banking for global financial services
While open banking offers significant benefits, it’s crucial to acknowledge the associated risks. Understanding these risks allows financial institutions to implement safeguards and protect themselves and their customers.
Risk of data breaches
By its nature, open banking is like adding more doors and windows to your house. It’s convenient but also gives burglars more ways to break in.
Open banking increases what cybersecurity professionals call the “attack surface,” or the number of potential points of vulnerability for hackers to steal financial data.
Data breaches are a serious threat to banks and financial institutions. According to IBM’s 2024 Cost of a Data Breach Report, each breach costs companies in the US an average of $4.88 million. Therefore, banks and fintechs must prioritise strong security measures and data protection protocols to mitigate these risks.
Risk of third-party access
By definition, open banking involves granting third-party providers access to customer financial information. This introduces a level of risk outside the bank’s direct control.
Financial institutions must carefully vet third-party providers, ensuring they meet stringent security standards and comply with all relevant data protection regulations.
Risk of user account takeover
Open banking can increase the risk of user account takeover if adequate security measures are not in place. For example, if a malicious third-party provider gains unauthorised access to a user’s bank login details, they could take control of the user’s account and make fraudulent bank transactions.
A proactive approach to security, continuous monitoring and a commitment to evolving best practices and security protocols are crucial for navigating the open banking landscape.
Open banking and data analytics : A balancing act for financial institutions
The additional data exchanged through open banking unveils deeper insights into customer behaviour and preferences. This data can fuel innovation, enabling the development of personalised products and services and improved risk management strategies.
However, using this data responsibly requires a careful balancing act.
Too much reliance on data without proper safeguards can erode trust and invite regulatory issues. The opposite can stifle innovation and limit the technology’s potential.
Matomo Analytics derisks web and app environments by giving full control over what data is tracked and how it is stored. The platform prioritises user data privacy and security while providing valuable data and analytics that will be familiar to anyone who has used Google Analytics.
Open banking, data privacy and AI
The future of open banking is entangled with emerging technologies like artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning. These technologies significantly enhance open banking analytics, personalise services, and automate financial tasks.
Several banks, credit unions and financial service providers are already exploring AI’s potential in open banking. For example, HSBC developed the AI-enabled FX Prompt in 2023 to improve forex trading. The bank processed 823 million client API calls, many of which were open banking.
However, using AI in open banking raises important data privacy considerations. As the American Bar Association highlights, balancing personalisation with responsible AI use is crucial for open banking’s future. Financial institutions must ensure that AI-driven solutions are developed and implemented ethically, respecting customer privacy and data protection.
Conclusion
Open banking presents a significant opportunity for innovation and growth in the financial services industry. While it’s important to acknowledge the associated risks, security measures like explicit customer consent, encryption and regulatory frameworks make open banking a safe and reliable system for banks and their clients.
Financial service providers must adopt a multifaceted approach to data privacy, implementing privacy-centred solutions across all aspects of their business, from open banking to online services and web analytics.
By prioritising data privacy and security, financial institutions can build customer trust, unlock the full potential of open banking and thrive in today’s changing financial environment.
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6 Crucial Benefits of Conversion Rate Optimisation
26 février 2024, par ErinWhether investing time or money in marketing, you want the best return on your investment. You want to get as many customers as possible with your budget and resources.
That’s what conversion rate optimisation (CRO) aims to do. But how does it help you achieve this major goal ?
This guide explores the concrete benefits of conversion rate optimisation and how they lead to more effective marketing and ROI. We’ll also introduce specific CRO best practices to help unlock these benefits.
What is conversion rate optimisation ?
Conversion rate optimisation (CRO) is the process of examining your website for improvements and creating tests to increase the number of visitors who take a desired action, like purchasing a product or submitting a form.
The conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who complete a specific goal.
In order to improve your conversion rate, you need to figure out :
- Where your customers come from
- How potential customers navigate or interact with your website
- Where potential customers are likely to exit your site (or abandon carts)
- What patterns drive valuable actions like sign-ups and sales
From there, you can gradually implement changes that will drive more visitors to convert. That’s the essence of conversion rate optimisation.
6 top benefits of conversion rate optimisation (and best practices to unlock them)
Conversion rate optimisation can help you get more out of your campaigns without investing more. CRO helps you in these six ways :
1. Understand your visitors (and customers) better
The main goal of CRO is to boost conversions, but it’s more than that. In the process of improving conversion rates, you’ll also benefit by gaining deep insights into user behaviour, preferences, and needs.
Using web analytics, tests and behavioural analytics, CRO helps marketers shape their website to match what users need.
Best practices for understanding your customer :
First, analyse how visitors act with full context (the pages they view, how long they stay and more).
In Matomo, you can use the Users Flow report to understand how visitors navigate through your site. This will help you visualise and identify trends in the buyer’s journey.
Then, you can dive deeper by defining and analysing journeys with Funnels. This shows you how many potential customers follow through each step in your defined journey and identify where you might have a leaky funnel.
In the above Funnel Report, nearly half of our visitors, just 44%, are moving forward in the buyer’s journey after landing on our scuba diving mask promotion page. With 56% of potential customers dropping off at this page, it’s a prime opportunity for optimising conversions.
Think of Funnels as your map, and pages with high drop-off rates as valuable opportunities for improvement.
Once you notice patterns, you can try to identify the why. Analyse the pages, do user testing and do your best to improve them.
2. Deliver a better user experience
A better understanding of your customers’ needs means you can deliver a better user experience.
For example, if you notice many people spend more time than expected on a particular step in the sign-up process, you can work to streamline it.
Best practices for improving your user experience :
To do this, you need to come up with testable hypotheses. Start by using Heatmaps and Session Recordings to visualise the user experience and understand where visitors are hesitating, experiencing points of frustration, and exiting.
You need to outline what drives certain patterns in behaviour — like cart abandonment for specific products, and what you think can fix them.
Let’s look at an example. In the screenshot above, we used Matomo’s Heatmap feature to analyse user behaviour on our website.
Only 65% of visitors scroll down far enough to encounter our main call to action to “Write a Review.” This insight suggests a potential opportunity for optimisation, where we can focus efforts on encouraging more users to engage with this key element on our site.
Once you’ve identified an area of improvement, you need to test the results of your proposed solution to the problem. The most common way to do this is with an A/B test.
This is a test where you create a new version of the problematic page, trying different titles, comparing long, and short copy, adding or removing images, testing variations of call-to-action buttons and more. Then, you compare the results — the conversion rate — against the original. With Matomo’s A/B Testing feature, you can easily split traffic between the original and one or more variations.
In the example above from Matomo, we can see that testing different header sizes on a page revealed that the wider header led to a higher conversion rate of 47%, compared to the original rate of 35% and the smaller header’s 36%.
Matomo’s report also analyses the “statistical significance” of the difference in results. Essentially, this is the likelihood that the difference comes from the changes you made in the variation. With a small sample size, random patterns (like one page receiving more organic search visits) can cause the differences.
If you see a significant change over a larger sample size, you can be fairly certain that the difference is meaningful. And that’s exactly what a high statistical significance rating indicates in Matomo.
Once a winner is identified, you can apply the change and start a new experiment.
3. Create a culture of data-driven decision-making
Marketers can no longer afford to rely on guesswork or gamble away budgets and resources. In our digital age, you must use data to get ahead of the competition. In 2021, 65% of business leaders agreed that decisions were getting more complex.
CRO is a great way to start a company-wide focus on data-driven decision-making.
Best practices to start a data-driven culture :
Don’t only test “hunches” or “best practices” — look at the data. Figure out the patterns that highlight how different types of visitors interact with your site.
Try to answer these questions :
- How do our most valuable customers interact with our site before purchasing ?
- How do potential customers who abandon their carts act ?
- Where do our most valuable customers come from ?
Moreover, it’s key to democratise insights by providing multiple team members access to information, fostering informed decision-making company-wide.
4. Lower your acquisition costs and get higher ROI from all marketing efforts
Once you make meaningful optimisations, CRO can help you lower customer acquisition costs (CAC). Getting new customers through advertising will be cheaper.
As a result, you’ll get a better return on investment (ROI) on all your campaigns. Every ad and dollar invested will get you closer to a new customer than before. That’s the bottom line of CRO.
Best practices to lower your CAC (customer acquisition costs) through CRO adjustments :
The easiest way to lower acquisition costs is to understand where your customers come from. Use marketing attribution to track the results of your campaigns, revealing how each touchpoint contributes to conversions and revenue over time, beyond just last-click attribution.
You can then compare the number of conversions to the marketing costs of each channel, to get a channel-specific breakdown of CAC.
This performance overview can help you quickly prioritise the best value channels and ads, lowering your CAC. But these are only surface-level insights.
You can also further lower CAC by optimising the pages these campaigns send visitors to. Start with a deep dive into your landing pages using features like Matomo’s Session Recordings or Heatmaps.
They can help you identify issues with an unengaging user experience or content. Using these insights, you can create A/B tests, where you implement a new page that replaces problematic headlines, buttons, copy, or visuals.
When a test shows a statistically significant improvement in conversion rates, implement the new version. Repeat this over time, and you can increase your conversion rates significantly, getting more customers with the same spend. This will reduce your customer acquisition costs, and help your company grow faster without increasing your ad budget.
5. Improve your average order value (AOV) and customer lifetime value (CLV)
CRO isn’t only about increasing the number of customers you convert. If you adapt your approach, you can also use it to increase the revenue from each customer you bring in.
But you can’t do that by only tracking conversion rates, you also need to track exactly what your customers buy.
If you only blindly optimise for CAC, you even risk lowering your CLV and the overall profitability of your campaigns. (For example, if you focus on Facebook Ads with a $6 CAC, but an average CLV of $50, over Google Ads with a $12 CAC, but a $100 CLV.)
Best practices to track and improve CLV :
First, integrate your analytics platform with your e-commerce (B2C) or your CRM (B2B). This will help you get a more holistic view of your customers. You don’t want the data to stop at “converted.” You want to be able to dive deep into the patterns of high-value customers.
The sales report in Matomo’s ecommerce analytics makes it easy to break down average order value by channels, campaigns, and specific ads.
In the report above, we can see that search engines drive customers who spend significantly more, on average, than social networks — $241 vs. $184. But social networks drive a higher volume of customers and more revenue.
To figure out which channel to focus on, you need to see how the CAC compares to the AOV (or CLV for B2B customers). Let’s say the CAC of social networks is $50, while the search engine CAC is $65. Search engine customers are more profitable — $176 vs. $134. So you may want to adjust some more budget to that channel.
To put it simply :
Profit per customer = AOV (or CLV) – CAC
Example :
- Profit per customer for social networks = $184 – $50 = $134
- Profit per customer for search engines = $241 – $65 = $176
You can also try to A/B test changes that may increase the AOV, like creating a product bundle and recommending it on specific sales pages.
An improvement in CLV will make your campaigns more profitable, and help stretch your advertising budget even further.
6. Improve your content and SEO rankings
A valuable side-effect of focusing on CRO metrics and analyses is that it can boost your SEO rankings.
How ?
CRO helps you improve the user experience of your website. That’s a key signal Google (and other search engines) care about when ranking webpages.
For example, Google’s algorithm considers “dwell time,” AKA how long a user stays on your page. If many users quickly return to the results page and click another result, that’s a bad sign. But if most people stay on your site for a while (or don’t return to Google at all), Google thinks your page gives the user their answer.
As a result, Google will improve your website’s ranking in the search results.
Best practices to make the most of CRO when it comes to SEO :
Use A/B Testing, Heatmaps, and Session Recordings to run experiments and understand user behaviour. Test changes to headlines, page layout, imagery and more to see how it impacts the user experience. You can even experiment with completely changing the content on a page, like substituting an introduction.
Bring your CRO-testing mindset to important pages that aren’t ranking well to improve metrics like dwell time.
Start optimising your conversion rate today
As you’ve seen, enjoying the benefits of CRO heavily relies on the data from a reliable web analytics solution.
But in an increasingly privacy-conscious world (just look at the timeline of GDPR updates and fines), you must tread carefully. One of the dilemmas that marketing managers face today is whether to prioritise data quality or privacy (and regulations).
With Matomo, you don’t have to choose. Matomo values both data quality and privacy, adhering to stringent privacy laws like GDPR and CCPA.
Unlike other web analytics, Matomo doesn’t sample data or use AI and machine learning to fill data gaps. Plus, you can track without annoying visitors with a cookie consent banner – so you capture 100% of traffic while respecting user privacy (excluding in Germany and UK).
And as you’ve already seen above, you’ll still get plenty of reports and insights to drive your CRO efforts. With User Flows, Funnels, Session Recordings, Form Analytics, and Heatmaps, you can immediately find insights to improve your bottom line.
And our built-in A/B testing feature will help you test your hypotheses and drive reliable progress. If you’re ready to reliably optimise conversion rates (with accuracy and without privacy concerns), try Matomo for free for 21 days. No credit card required.
Try Matomo for Free
21 day free trial. No credit card required.