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Websites made with MediaSPIP
2 mai 2011, par kent1This page lists some websites based on MediaSPIP.
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Creating farms of unique websites
13 avril 2011, par kent1MediaSPIP platforms can be installed as a farm, with a single "core" hosted on a dedicated server and used by multiple websites.
This allows (among other things) : implementation costs to be shared between several different projects / individuals rapid deployment of multiple unique sites creation of groups of like-minded sites, making it possible to browse media in a more controlled and selective environment than the major "open" (...) -
Personnaliser les catégories
21 juin 2013, par etalarmaFormulaire de création d’une catégorie
Pour ceux qui connaissent bien SPIP, une catégorie peut être assimilée à une rubrique.
Dans le cas d’un document de type catégorie, les champs proposés par défaut sont : Texte
On peut modifier ce formulaire dans la partie :
Administration > Configuration des masques de formulaire.
Dans le cas d’un document de type média, les champs non affichés par défaut sont : Descriptif rapide
Par ailleurs, c’est dans cette partie configuration qu’on peut indiquer le (...)
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A Comprehensive Guide to Robust Digital Marketing Analytics
30 octobre 2023, par ErinFirst impressions are everything. This is not only true for dating and job interviews but also for your digital marketing strategy. Like a poorly planned resume getting tossed in the “no thank you” pile, 38% of visitors to your website will stop engaging with your content if they find the layout unpleasant. Thankfully, digital marketers can access data that can be harnessed to optimise websites and turn those “no thank you’s” into “absolutely’s.”
So, how can we transform raw data into valuable insights that pay off ? The key is web analytics tools that can help you make sense of it all while collecting data ethically. In this article, we’ll equip you with ways to take your digital marketing strategy to the next level with the power of web analytics.
What are the different types of digital marketing analytics ?
Digital marketing analytics are like a cipher into the complex behaviour of your buyers. Digital marketing analytics help collect, analyse and interpret data from any touchpoint you interact with your buyers online. Whether you’re trying to gauge the effectiveness of a new email marketing campaign or improve your mobile app layout, there’s a way for you to make use of the insights you gain.
As we go through the eight commonly known types of digital marketing analytics, please note we’ll primarily focus on what falls under the umbrella of web analytics.
- Web analytics help you better understand how users interact with your website. Good web analytics tools will help you understand user behaviour while securely handling user data.
- Learn more about the effectiveness of your organisation’s social media platforms with social media analytics. Social media analytics include user engagement, post reach and audience demographics.
- Email marketing analytics help you see how email campaigns are being engaged with.
- Search engine optimisation (SEO) analytics help you understand your website’s visibility in search engine results pages (SERPs).
- Pay-per-click (PPC) analytics measure the performance of paid advertising campaigns.
- Content marketing analytics focus on how your content is performing with your audience.
- Customer analytics helps organisations identify and examine buyer behaviour to retain the biggest spenders.
- Mobile app analytics track user interactions within mobile applications.
Choosing which digital marketing analytics tools are the best fit for your organisation is not an easy task. When making these decisions, it’s critical to remember the ethical implications of data collection. Although data insights can be invaluable to your organisation, they won’t be of much use if you lose the trust of your users.
Tips and best practices for developing robust digital marketing analytics
So, what separates top-notch, robust digital marketing analytics from the rest ? We’ve already touched on it, but a big part involves respecting user privacy and ethically handling data. Data security should be on your list of priorities, alongside conversion rate optimisation when developing a digital marketing strategy. In this section, we will examine best practices for using digital marketing analytics while retaining user trust.
Clear objectives
Before comparing digital marketing analytics tools, you should define clear and measurable goals. Try asking yourself what you need your digital marketing analytics strategy to accomplish. Do you want to improve conversion rates while remaining data compliant ? Maybe you’ve noticed users are not engaging with your platform and want to fix that. Save yourself time and energy by focusing on the most relevant pain points and areas of improvement.
Choose the right tools for the job
Don’t just base your decision on what other people tell you. Take the tool for a test drive — free trials allow you to test features and user interfaces and learn more about the platform before committing. When choosing digital marketing analytics tools, look for ones that ensure compliance with privacy laws like GDPR.
Don’t overlook data compliance
GDPR ensures organisations prioritise data protection and privacy. You could be fined up to €20 million, or 4% of the previous year’s revenue for violations. Without data compliance practices, you can say goodbye to the time and money spent on digital marketing strategies.
Don’t sacrifice data quality and accuracy
Inaccurate and low-quality data can taint your analysis, making it hard to glean valuable insights from your digital marketing analytics efforts. Regularly audit and clean your data to remove inaccuracies and inconsistencies. Address data discrepancies promptly to maintain the integrity of your analytics. Data validation measures also help to filter out inaccurate data.
Communicate your findings
Having insights is one thing ; effectively communicating complex data findings is just as important. Customise dashboards to display key metrics aligned with your objectives. Make sure to automate reports, allowing stakeholders to stay updated without manual intervention.
Understand the user journey
To optimise your conversion rates, you need to understand the user journey. Start by analysing visitors interactions with your website — this will help you identify conversion bottlenecks in your sales or lead generation processes. Implement A/B testing for landing page optimisation, refining elements like call-to-action buttons or copy, and leverage Form Analytics to make informed, data-driven improvements to your forms.
Continuous improvement
Learn from the data insights you gain, and iterate your marketing strategies based on the findings. Stay updated with evolving web analytics trends and technologies to leverage new growth opportunities.
Why you need web analytics to support your digital marketing analytics toolbox
You wouldn’t set out on a roadtrip without a map, right ? Digital marketing analytics without insights into how users interact with your website are just as useless. Used ethically, web analytics tools can be an invaluable addition to your digital marketing analytics toolbox.
The data collected via web analytics reveals user interactions with your website. These could include anything from how long visitors stay on your page to their actions while browsing your website. Web analytics tools help you gather and understand this data so you can better understand buyer preferences. It’s like a domino effect : the more you understand your buyers and user behaviour, the better you can assess the effectiveness of your digital content and campaigns.
Web analytics reveal user behaviour, highlighting navigation patterns and drop-off points. Understanding these patterns helps you refine website layout and content, improving engagement and conversions for a seamless user experience.
Concrete CMS harnessed the power of web analytics, specifically Form Analytics, to uncover a crucial insight within their user onboarding process. Their data revealed a significant issue : the “address” input field was causing visitors to drop off and not complete the form, severely impacting the overall onboarding experience and conversion rate.
Armed with these insights, Concrete CMS made targeted optimisations to the form, resulting in a substantial transformation. By addressing the specific issue identified through Form Analytics, they achieved an impressive outcome – a threefold increase in lead generation.
This case is a great example of how web analytics can uncover customer needs and preferences and positively impact conversion rates.
Ethical implications of digital marketing analytics
As we’ve touched on, digital marketing analytics are a powerful tool to help better understand online user behaviour. With great power comes great responsibility, however, and it’s a legal and ethical obligation for organisations to protect individual privacy rights. Let’s get into the benefits of practising ethical digital marketing analytics and the potential risks of not respecting user privacy :
- If someone uses your digital platform and then opens their email one day to find it filled with random targeted ad campaigns, they won’t be happy. Avoid losing user trust — and facing a potential lawsuit — by informing users what their data will be used for. Give them the option to consent to opt-in or opt-out of letting you use their personal information. If users are also assured you’ll safeguard personal information against unauthorised access, they’ll be more likely to trust you to handle their data securely.
- Protecting data against breaches means investing in technology that will let you end-to-end encrypt and securely store data. Other important data-security best practices include access control, backing up data regularly and network and physical security of assets.
- A fine line separates digital marketing analytics and misusing user data — many companies have gotten into big trouble for crossing it. (By big trouble, we mean millions of dollars in fines.) When it comes to digital marketing analytics, you should never cut corners when it comes to user privacy and data security. This balance involves understanding what data can be collected and what should be collected and respecting user boundaries and preferences.
Learn more
We discussed a lot of facets of digital marketing analytics, namely how to develop a robust digital marketing strategy while prioritising data compliance. With Matomo, you can protect user data and respect user privacy while gaining invaluable insights into user behaviour. Save your organisation time and money by investing in a web analytics solution that gives you the best of both worlds.
If you’re ready to begin using ethical and robust digital marketing analytics on your website, try Matomo. Start your 21-day free trial now — no credit card required.
Try Matomo for Free
21 day free trial. No credit card required.
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How to Check Website Traffic As Accurately As Possible
18 août 2023, par Erin — Analytics TipsIf you want to learn about the health of your website and the success of your digital marketing initiatives, there are few better ways than checking your website traffic.
It’s a great way to get a quick dopamine hit when things are up, but you can also use traffic levels to identify issues, learn more about your users or benchmark your performance. That means you need a reliable and easy way to check your website traffic over time — as well as a way to check out your competitors’ traffic levels, too.
In this article, we’ll show you how to do just that. You’ll learn how to check website traffic for both your and your competitor’s sites and discover why some methods of checking website traffic are better than others.
Why check website traffic ?
Dopamine hits aside, it’s important to constantly monitor your website’s traffic for several reasons.
Benchmark site performance
Keeping regular tabs on your traffic levels is a great way to track your website’s performance over time. It can help you plan for the future or identify problems.
For instance, growing traffic levels may mean expanding your business’s offering or investing in more inventory. On the flip side, decreasing traffic levels may suggest it’s time to revamp your marketing strategies or look into issues impacting your SEO.
Analyse user behaviour
Checking website traffic and user behaviour lets marketing managers understand how users interact with your website. Which pages are they visiting ? Which CTAs do they click on ? What can you do to encourage users to take the actions you want ? You can also identify issues that lead to high bounce rates and other problems.
The better you understand user behaviour, the easier it will be to give them what they want. For example, you may find that users spend more time on your landing pages than they do your blog pages. You could use that information to revise how you create blog posts or focus on creating more landing pages.
Improve the user experience
Once you understand how users behave on your website, you can use that information to fix errors, update your content and improve the user experience for the site.
You can even personalise the experience for customers, leading to significant growth. Research shows companies that grow faster derive 40% more of their revenue from personalisation.
That could come in the form of sweeping personalisations — like rearranging your website’s navigation bar based on user behaviour — or individual personalisation that uses analytics to transform sections or entire pages of your site based on user behaviour.
Optimise marketing strategies
You can use website traffic reports to understand where users are coming from and optimise your marketing plan accordingly. You may want to double down on organic traffic, for instance, or invest more in PPC advertising. Knowing current traffic estimates and how these traffic levels have trended over time can help you benchmark your campaigns and prioritise your efforts.
Increasing traffic levels from other countries can also help you identify new marketing opportunities. If you start seeing significant traffic levels from a neighbouring country or a large market, it could be time to take your business international and launch a cross-border campaign.
Filter unwanted traffic
A not-insignificant portion of your site’s traffic may be coming from bots and other unwanted sources. These can compromise the quality of your analytics and make it harder to draw insights. You may not be able to get rid of this traffic, but you can use analytics tools to remove it from your stats.
How to check website traffic on Matomo
If you want to check your website’s traffic, you’d be forgiven for heading to Google Analytics first. It’s the most popular analytics tool on the market, after all. But if you want a more reliable assessment of your website’s traffic, then we recommend using Matomo alongside Google Analytics.
The Matomo web analytics platform is an open-source solution that helps you collect accurate data about your website’s traffic and make more informed decisions as a result — all while enhancing the customer experience and ensuring GDPR compliance and user privacy.
Matomo also offers multiple ways to check website traffic :
Let’s look at all of them one by one.
The visits log report is a unique rundown of all of the individual visitors to your site. This offers a much more granular view than other tools that just show the total number of visitors for a given period.
You can access the visits log report by clicking on the reporting menu, then clicking Visitor and Visits Log. From there, you’ll be able to scroll through every user session and see the following information :
- The location of the user
- The total number of actions they took
- The length of time on site
- How they arrived at your site
- And the device they used to access your site
This may be overwhelming if your site receives thousands of visitors at a time. But it’s a great way to understand users at an individual level and appreciate the lifetime activity of specific users.
The Real-time visitor map is a visual display of users’ location for a given timeframe. If you have an international website, it’s a fantastic way to see exactly where in the world your traffic comes from.
You can access the Real-time Visitor Map by clicking Visitor in the main navigation menu and then Real-time Map. The map itself is colour-coded. Larger orange bubbles represent recent visits, and smaller dark orange and grey bubbles represent older visits. The map will refresh every five seconds, and new users appear with a flashing effect.
If you run TV or radio adverts, Matomo’s Real-time Map provides an immediate read on the effectiveness of your campaign. If your map lights up in the minutes following your ad, you know it’s been effective. It can also help you identify the source of bot attacks, too.
Finally, the Visits in Real-time report provides a snapshot of who is browsing your website. You can access this report under Visitors > Real-time and add it to your custom dashboards as a widget.
Open the report, and you’ll see the real-time flow of your site’s users and counters for visits and pageviews over the last 30 minutes and 24 hours. The report refreshes every five seconds with new users added to the top of the report with a fade-in effect.
The report provides a snapshot of each visitor, including :
- Whether they are new or a returning
- Their country
- Their browser
- Their operating system
- The number of actions they took
- The time they spent on the site
- The channel they came in from
- Whether the visitor converted a goal
3 other ways to check website traffic
You don’t need to use Matomo to check your website traffic. Here are three other tools you can use instead.
How to check website traffic on Google Analytics
Google Analytics is usually the first starting point for anyone looking to check their website traffic. It’s free to use, incredibly popular and offers a wide range of traffic reports.
Google Analytics lets you break down historical traffic data almost any way you wish. You can split traffic by acquisition channel (organic, social media, direct, etc.) by country, device or demographic.
It also provides real-time traffic reports that give you a snapshot of users on your site right now and over the last 30 minutes.
Google Analytics may be one of the most popular ways to check website traffic, but it could be better. Google Analytics 4 is difficult to use compared to its predecessor, and it also limits the amount of data you can track in accordance with privacy laws. If users refuse your cookie consent, Google Analytics won’t record these visits. In other words, you aren’t getting a complete view of your traffic by using Google Analytics alone.
That’s why it’s important to use Google Analytics alongside other web analytics tools (like Matomo) that don’t suffer from the same privacy issues. That way, you can make sure you track every single user who visits your site.
How to check website traffic on Google Search Console
Google Search Console is a free tool from Google that lets you analyse the search traffic that your site gets from Google.
The top-line report shows you how many times your website has appeared in Google Search, how many clicks it has received, the average clickthrough rate and the average position of your website in the search results.
Google Search Console is a great way to understand what you rank for and how much traffic your organic rankings generate. It will also show you which pages are indexed in Google and whether there are any crawling errors.
Unfortunately, Google Search Console is limited if you want to get a complete view of your traffic. While you can analyse search traffic in a huge amount of detail, it will not tell you how users who access your website directly or via social media behave.
How to check website traffic on Similarweb
Similarweb is a website analysis tool that estimates the total traffic of any site on the internet. It is one of the best tools for estimating how much traffic your competitors receive.
What’s great about Similarweb is that it estimates total traffic, not just traffic from search engines like many SEO tools. It even breaks down traffic by different channels, allowing you to see how your website compares against your competitors.
As you can see from the image above, Similarweb provides an estimate of total visits, bounce rate, the average number of pages users view per visit and the average duration on the site. The company also has a free browser extension that lets you check website traffic estimates as you browse the web.
You can use Similarweb for free to a point. But to really get the most out of this tool, you’ll need to upgrade to a premium plan which starts at $125 per user per month.
The price isn’t the only downside of using Similarweb to check the traffic of your own and your competitor’s websites. Ultimately, Similarweb is only an estimate — even if it’s a reasonably accurate one — and it’s no match for a comprehensive analytics tool.
7 website traffic metrics to track
Now that you know how to check your website’s traffic, you can start to analyse it. You can use plenty of metrics to assess the quality of your website traffic, but here are some of the most important metrics to track.
- New visitors : These are users who have never visited your website before. They are a great sign that your marketing efforts are working and your site is reaching more people. But it’s also important to track how they behave on the website to ensure your site caters effectively to new visitors.
- Returning visitors : Returning visitors are coming back to your site for a reason : either they like the content you’re creating or they want to make a purchase. Both instances are great. The more returning visitors, the better.
- Bounce rate : This is a measure of how many users leave your website without taking action. Different analytics tools measure this metric differently.
- Session duration : This is the length of time users spend on your website, and it can be a great gauge of whether they find your site engaging. Especially when combined with the metric below.
- Pages per session : This measures how many different pages users visit on average. The more pages they visit and the longer users spend on your website, the more engaging it is.
- Traffic source : Traffic can come from a variety of sources (organic, direct, social media, referral, etc.) Tracking which sources generate the most traffic can help you analyse and prioritise your marketing efforts.
- User demographics : This broad metric tells you more about who the users are that visit your website, what device they use, what country they come from, etc. While the bulk of your website traffic will come from the countries you target, an influx of new users from other countries can open the door to new opportunities.
Why do my traffic reports differ ?
If you use more than one of the methods above to check your website traffic, you’ll quickly realise that every traffic report differs. In some cases, the reasons are obvious. Any tool that estimates your traffic without adding code to your website is just that : an estimate. Tools like Similarweb will never offer the accuracy of analytics platforms like Matomo and Google Analytics.
But what about the differences between these analytics platforms themselves ? While each platform has a different way of recording user behaviour, significant differences in website traffic reports between analytics platforms are usually a result of how each platform handles user privacy.
A platform like Google Analytics requires users to accept a cookie consent banner to track them. If they accept, great. Google collects all of the data that any other analytics platform does. It may even collect more. If users reject cookie consent banners, however, then Google Analytics can’t track these visitors at all. They simply won’t show up in your traffic reports.
That doesn’t happen with all analytics platforms, however. A privacy-focused alternative like Matomo doesn’t require cookie consent banners (apart from in the United Kingdom and Germany) and can therefore continue to track visitors even after they have rejected a cookie consent screen from Google Analytics. This means that virtually all of your website traffic will be tracked regardless of whether users accept a cookie consent banner or not. And it’s why traffic reports in Matomo are often much higher than they are in Google Analytics.
Given that around half (47.32%) of adults in the European Union refuse to allow the use of personal data tracking for advertising purposes and that 95% of people will reject additional cookies when it is easy to do so, this means you could have vastly different traffic reports — and be missing out on a significant amount of user data.
If you’re serious about using web analytics to improve your website and optimise your marketing campaigns, then it is essential to use another analytics platform alongside Google Analytics.
Get more accurate traffic reports with Matomo
There are several methods to check website traffic. Some, like Similarweb, can provide estimates on your competitors’ traffic levels. Others, like Google Analytics, are free. But data doesn’t lie. Only privacy-focused analytics solutions like Matomo can provide accurate reports that account for every visitor.
Join over one million organisations using Matomo to accurately check their website traffic. Try it for free alongside GA today. No credit card required.
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What Is Incrementality & Why Is It Important in Marketing ?
26 mars 2024, par ErinImagine this : you just launched your latest campaign and it was a major success.
You blew last month’s results out of the water.
You combined a variety of tactics, channels and ad creatives to make it work.
Now, it’s time to build the next campaign.
The only issue ?
You don’t know what made it successful or how much your recent efforts impacted the results.
You’ve been building your brand for years. You’ve built up a variety of marketing pillars that are working for you. So, how do you know how much of your campaign is from years of effort or a new tactic you just implemented ?
The key is incrementality.
This is a way to properly attribute the right weight to your marketing tactics.
In this article, we break down what incrementality is in marketing, how it differs from traditional attribution and how you can calculate and track it to grow your business.
What is incrementality in marketing ?
Incrementality in marketing is growth that can be directly credited to a marketing effort above and beyond the success of the branding.
It looks at how much a specific tactic positively impacted a campaign on top of overall branding and marketing strategies.
For example, this could be how much a specific tactic, campaign or channel helped increase conversions, email sign-ups or organic traffic.
The primary purpose of incrementally in marketing is to more accurately determine the impact a single marketing variable had on the success of a project.
It removes every other factor and isolates the specific method to help marketers double down on that strategy or move on to new tactics.
With Matomo, you can track conversions simply. With our last non-direct channel attribution system, you’ll be able to quickly see what channels are converting (and which aren’t) so you can gain insights into incrementality.
Try Matomo for Free
Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.
How incrementality differs from attribution
In marketing and advertising, it’s crucial to understand what tactics and activities drive growth.
Incrementality and attribution help marketers and business owners understand what efforts impact their results.
But they’re not the same.
Here’s how they differ :
Incrementality explained
Incrementality measures how much a specific marketing campaign or activity drives additional sales or growth.
Simply put, it’s analysing the difference between having never implemented the campaign (or tactic or channel) in the first place versus the impact of the activity.
In other words, how much revenue would you have generated this month without campaign A ?
And how much additional revenue did you generate directly due to campaign A ?
The reality is that dozens of factors impact revenue and growth.
You aren’t just pouring your marketing into one specific channel or campaign at a time.
Chances are, you’ve got your hands on several marketing initiatives like SEO, PPC, organic social media, paid search, email marketing and more.
Beyond that, you’ve built a brand with a not-so-tangible impact on your recurring revenue.
So, the question is, if you took away your new campaign, would you still be generating the same amount of revenue ?
And, if you add in that campaign, how much additional revenue and growth did it directly create ?
That is incrementality. It’s how much a campaign went above and beyond to add new revenue that wouldn’t have been there otherwise.
So, how does attribution play into all of this ?
Attribution explained
Attribution is simply the process of assigning credit for a conversion to a particular marketing touchpoint.
While incrementality is about narrowing down the overall revenue impact from a particular campaign, attribution seeks to point to a specific channel to attribute a sale.
For example, in any given marketing campaign, you have a few marketing tactics.
Let’s say you’re launching a limited-time product.
You might have :
- Paid ads via Facebook and Instagram
- A blog post sharing how the product works
- Organic social media posts on Instagram and TikTok
- Email waitlist campaign building excitement around the upcoming product
- SMS campaigns to share a limited-time discount
So, when the time comes for the sale launch, and you generate $30,000 in revenue, what channel gets the credit ?
Do you give credit to the paid ads on Facebook ? What about Instagram ? They got people to follow you and got them on the email waitlist.
Do you give credit to email for reminding people of the upcoming sale ? What about your social media posts that reminded people there ?
Or do you credit your SMS campaign that shared a limited-time discount ?
Which channel is responsible for the sale ?
This is what attribution is all about.
It’s about giving credit where credit is due.
The reason you want to attribute credit ? So you know what’s working and can double down your efforts on the high-impact marketing activities and channels.
Leveraging incrementality and attribution together
Incrementality and attribution aren’t competing methods of analysing what’s working.
They’re complementary to one another and go hand in hand.
You can (and should) use attribution and incrementality in your marketing to help understand what activities, campaigns and channels are making the biggest incremental impact on your business growth.
Why it’s important to measure incrementality
Incrementality is crucial to measure if you want to pour your time, money and effort into the right marketing channels and tactics.
Here are a few reasons why you need to measure incrementality if you want to be successful with your marketing and grow your business :
1. Accurate data
If you want to be an effective marketer, you need to be accurate.
You can’t blindly start marketing campaigns in hopes that you will sell many products or services.
That’s not how it works.
Sure, you’ll probably make some sales here and there. But to truly be effective with your work, you must measure your activities and channels correctly.
Incrementality helps you see how each channel, tactic or campaign made a difference in your marketing.
Matomo gives you 100% accurate data on your website activities. Unlike Google Analytics, we don’t use data sampling which limits how much data is analysed.
2. Helps you to best determine the right tactics for success
How can you plan your marketing strategy if you don’t know what’s working ?
Think about it.
You’ll be blindly sailing the seas without a compass telling you where to go.
Measuring incrementality in your marketing tactics and channels helps you understand the best tactics.
It shows you what’s moving the needle (and what’s not).
Once you can see the most impactful tactics and channels, you can forge future campaigns that you know will work.
3. Allows you to get the most out of your marketing budget
Since incrementality sheds light on what’s moving your business forward, you can confidently implement your efforts on the right tactics and channels.
Guess what happens when you start doubling down on the most impactful activities ?
You start increasing revenue, decreasing ad spend and getting a higher return on investment.
The result is that you will get more out of your marketing budget.
Not only will you boost revenue, but you’ll also be able to boost profit margins since you’re not wasting money on ineffective tactics.
4. Increase traffic
When you see what’s truly working in your business, you can figure out what channels and tactics you should be working.
Incrementality helps you understand not only what your best revenue tactics are but also what channels and campaigns are bringing in the most traffic.
When you can increase traffic, you can increase your overall marketing impact.
5. Increase revenue
Finally, with increased traffic, the inevitable result is more conversions.
More conversions mean more revenue.
Incrementality gives you a vision of the tactics and channels that are converting the best.
If you can see that your SMS campaigns are driving the best ROI, then you know that you’ll grow your revenue by pouring more into acquiring SMS leads.
By calculating incrementality regularly, you can rest assured that you’re only investing time and money into the most impactful activities in terms of revenue generation.
How to calculate and test incrementality in marketing
Now that you understand how incrementality works and why it’s important to calculate, the question is :
How do you calculate and conduct incrementality tests ?
Given the ever-changing marketing landscape, it’s crucial to understand how to calculate and test incrementally in your business.
If you’re not sure how incrementality testing works, then follow these simple steps :
Your first step to get an incrementality measurement is to conduct what’s referred to as a “holdout test.”
It’s not a robust test, but it’s an easy way to get the ball rolling with incrementality.
Here’s how it works :
- Choose your target audience.
With Matomo’s segmentation feature, you can get pretty specific with your target audience, such as :
- Visitors from the UK
- Returning visitors
- Mobile users
- Visitors who clicked on a specific ad
- Split your audience into two groups :
- Control group (60% of the segment)
- Test group (40% of the segment)
- Target the control group with your marketing tactic (the simpler the tactic, the better).
- Target the test group with a different marketing tactic.
- Analyse the results. The difference between the control and test groups is the incremental lift in results. The new marketing tactic is either more effective or not.
- Repeat the test with a new control group (with an updated tactic) and a new test group (with a new tactic).
Matomo can help you analyse the results of your campaigns in our Goals feature. Set up business objectives so you can easily track different goals like conversions.
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Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.
Here’s an example of how this incrementality testing could look in real life.
Imagine a fitness retailer wants to start showing Facebook ads in their marketing mix.
The marketing manager decided to conduct a holdout test. If we match our example below with the steps above, this is how the holdout test might look.
- They choose people who’ve purchased free weights in the past as their target audience (see how that segmentation works ?).
- They split this segment into a control group and a test group.
- For this test, they direct their regular marketing campaign to the control group (60% of the segment). The campaign includes promoting a 20% off sale on organic social media posts, email marketing, and SMS.
- They direct their regular marketing campaign plus Facebook ads to the test group (40% of the segment).
- They ran the campaign for three weeks with the goal for sale conversions and noticed :
- The control group had a 1.5% conversion rate.
- The test group (with Facebook ads) had a 2.1% conversion rate.
- In this scenario, they could see the group who saw the Facebook ads convert better.
- They created the following formula to measure the incremental lift of the Facebook ads :
- Here’s how the calculation works out : (2.1% – 1.5%) / 1.5% = 40%
The Facebook ads had a positive 40% incremental lift in conversions during the sale.
Incrementality testing isn’t a one-and-done process, though.
While this first test is a great sign for the marketing manager, it doesn’t mean they should immediately throw all their money into Facebook ads.
They should continue conducting tests to verify the initial test.
Use Matomo to track incrementality today
Incrementality can give you insights into exactly what’s working in your marketing (and what’s not) so you can design proven strategies to grow your business.
If you want more help tracking your marketing efforts, try Matomo today.
Our web analytics and behaviour analytics platform gives you firsthand data on your website visitors you can use to craft effective marketing strategies.
Matomo provides 100% accurate data. Unlike other major web analytics platforms, we don’t do data sampling. What you see is what’s really going on in your website. That way, you can make more informed decisions for better results.
At Matomo, we take privacy very seriously and include several advanced privacy protections to ensure you are in full control.
As a fully compliant web analytics solution, we’re fully compliant with some of the world’s strictest privacy regulations like GDPR. With Matomo, you get peace of mind knowing you can make data-driven decisions while also being compliant.
If you’re ready to launch a data-driven marketing strategy today and grow your business, get started with our 21-day free trial now. No credit card required.
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21 day free trial. No credit card required.