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  • Enterprise web analytics : Quick start guide (and top tools)

    10 juillet, par Joe — Analytics Tips

    Without data, you’ll get lost in the sea of competition.

    This is even more important for large organisations.

    Data helps you :

    • Optimise customer experiences
    • Navigate complex business decisions
    • Create a roadmap to sustainable brand growth
    • Data can power differentiation, especially within fiercely competitive sectors.

    How do you get the benefits of data in a large organisation ?

    Enterprise web analytics.

    In this guide, we’ll cover everything you need to know about enterprise web analytics to enhance website performance, improve customer experiences and increase conversions.

    What is enterprise web analytics ?

    Enterprise web analytics help large organisations capture, analyse, and act on website data to optimise customer experiences and make informed decisions. By providing insight into customer interactions, user behaviour and preferences, they’re vital in helping big businesses improve their websites.

    Definition of enterprise web analytics

    Enterprise web analytics can extract data from web pages and reveal a range of performance metrics, including :

    • Pageviews
    • Average time on page
    • Actions per visit
    • Bounce rate
    • Conversions
    • Traffic sources
    • Device type
    • Event tracking
    • And more

    You can track this data daily or access monthly reports, which will give you valuable insights into optimising user engagement, improving your website’s search engine traffic, and meeting business goals like increased conversion rates.

    For large organisations, web analytics isn’t just about measuring traffic. Instead, it’s an asset you can use to identify issues in your web strategy so you can gain insights that will fuel sustainable business growth.

    An advanced analytics strategy goes beyond the digital channels, page views and bounce rates of traditional analytics.

    Instead, modern web analytics incorporates behavioural analytics for deeper analysis and insight into user experiences. These advanced features include :

    • Heatmaps (or scroll maps) to track scroll behaviour on each page
    • User flow reports to see the pages your users visit in the customer journey
    • Session recordings to analyse user interactions (step-by-step)

    Taking a two-pronged approach to web analytics that includes both traditional and behavioural metrics, organisations get a clearer picture of users and their brand interactions.

    Different needs of enterprise companies

    Let’s dive deeper into the different needs of enterprise companies and how enterprise web analytics can help solve them :

    Access more storage

    Let’s face it. Large organisations have complex IT infrastructures and vast amounts of data.

    The amount of data to capture, analyse and store isn’t slowing down anytime soon.

    Enterprise web analytics can help handle and store large amounts of data in ways that serve the entire organisation.

    Enable cross-organisational data consumption

    It’s one thing to access data in a small company. You’ve got yourself and a few employees. That’s easy.

    But, it’s another thing to enable an organisation with thousands of employees with different roles to access complex data structures and large amounts of data.

    Enterprise web analytics allows big companies to enable their entire workforce to gain access to the data they need when they need it.

    Increase security

    As mentioned above, large organisations can use enterprise web analytics to help hundreds or even thousands of employees access their web data.

    However, some data shouldn’t be accessed by every type of employee. For example, some organisations may only want certain data accessed by executives, and some employees may not need to access certain types of data that may confuse or overwhelm them.

    Enterprise web analytics can help you grant access to certain types of data based on your role in the company, ensuring the security of sensitive data in your organisation.

    Improve privacy

    You can keep your data secure from internal breaches with enterprise web analytics. But, how do you protect customer data ?

    With all-inclusive privacy measures.

    To ensure that your customers’ privacy and data are protected, choose a web analytics solution that’s compliant with the latest and most important privacy measures, such as GDPR, LGPD and CCPA.

    Taking a privacy-first approach to data helps ensure your protection from potential legal action or fines.

    Enterprise web analytics best practices

    Want to make sure you get the most out of your web analytics strategy ?

    Woman analyzing data from analytics.

    Be clear on what metrics you want to track

    You can track a ton of data in your organisation, but you may not need to. To ensure you’re not wasting time and resources tracking irrelevant numbers, you should make sure you’re clear from day one on the metrics you want to track.

    Start by making a list of key data points relevant to your business.

    For example, if you have an online marketplace, you’ll want to track specific ecommerce metrics like conversion rate, total visits, bounce rates, traffic source, etc.

    Don’t take data at face value

    Numbers alone can’t tell you the whole story of what’s happening in your organisation. It’s crucial you add context to your data, no matter what.

    Dozens of factors could impact your data and visitors’ interactions with your site, so you should always try to look beyond the numbers to see if there are other factors at play.

    For example, you might see that your site traffic is down and think your search engine optimisation (SEO) efforts aren’t working. Meanwhile, there could have been a major Google algorithm update or some sort of seasonality in a key market.

    On the other hand, you might see some positive signals that things are going well with your organic social media strategy because you saw a large influx of traffic from Instagram. But, there could be more to the story.

    For example, an Instagram influencer with five million followers may have just posted a reel reviewing your product or service without you knowing it, leading to a major traffic spike for your website.

    Remember to add notes to your web analytics data if necessary to ensure you can reference any insights from your data to maintain that point of context.

    Ensure your data is accurate

    With web analytics, data is everything. It will help you see where your traffic is coming from, how your users are behaving, and gain actionable insights into how you can improve your website and user experience.

    But if your data isn’t accurate, your efforts will be futile.

    Accurate data is crucial for launching an effective web analytics strategy. Data sampling and simple tracking errors can lead to inaccurate numbers and misleading conclusions. 

    If a tool relies on cookies to collect data, then it’s relying on a faulty data collection system. Cookies give users the option to opt out of tracking, making it challenging to get a clear picture of every user interaction.

    For example, some platforms like Google Analytics use data sampling to make predictions about traffic rather than relying on accurate data collection, leading to inaccurate numbers and conclusions.

    To ensure you’re making decisions based on accurate data, find a solution that doesn’t rely on inaccurate data collection methods like data sampling or cookies.

    Lean on visual data tools to improve analysis

    Enterprise organisations deal with a ton of data. There are endless data points to track, and it can be easy to lose track of what’s going on with the bigger picture.

    One of the best ways to interpret your data is to use a data visualisation tool to integrate with your web analytics solution, like Looker or PowerBI.

    Make sure your chosen platform lets you export your data easily so you can link it with a visual support tool.

    With Matomo, you can easily export your data into Google BigQuery to warehouse your customer data and visualise it through other tools (without the need for APIs, scripts or additional tools).

    Use advanced web analytics

    Web analytics is quite broad, and different tools will offer various features you can access in your analytics dashboard.

    Take advantage of advanced features that utilise both traditional and behavioural data for deeper insights.

    • Use heatmaps to better understand what parts of your web pages your visitors are focusing on to improve conversion rates.
    • Review session recordings to see the exact steps your customers take as they interact with your website.
    • Conduct A/B tests to see which call to action, headline, or image provides the optimal user experience.

    There are dozens of advanced features available, so take the time to make sure your chosen tool has everything you need.

    Choose a privacy-focused tool

    Obviously, not every tool is created equal, and most of the software on the market isn’t suitable for enterprise businesses.

    As a large organisation, the most important step is to choose a trusted enterprise web analytics tool to ensure it’s capable of fitting within a company of your size.

    It needs to have great infrastructure and be able to handle large amounts of data.

    Another crucial factor is to check that the tool is compatible with your website or app. Does it integrate easily with it ? What about your other software ? Will it integrate with those as well and fit into your current tech stack ?

    Most importantly, you need a platform that can provide the data and insights your organisation needs.

    Make sure the tool you choose is GDPR-compliant and privacy-friendly. The last thing you want is to be sued or fined because you chose the wrong software. 

    Consumers are growing more cautious about privacy and data risks, so picking a privacy-focused tool will help build trust with customers.

    Top 5 enterprise web analytics tools

    Now that you understand enterprise web analytics and how to get the most out of it, it’s time to talk about tools.

    You need to make sure you’re using the right web analytics software to improve productivity, optimise website performance and grow your brand without compromising on the infrastructure required for large organisations to thrive.

    Here are five of the best enterprise solutions available :

    Features and pricing comparison

    GDPR
    compliant
    On-premise option100% data ownershipTraditional analytics Behavioural analyticsAwarded best enterprise software
    Matomo✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️
    Amplitude✔️✔️✔️
    Adobe✔️✔️✔️
    GA360✔️
    Contentsquare✔️✔️✔️✔️

    Use Matomo to power your website analytics

    Web analytics help enterprise organisations reach new users, improve engagement with current users or grow their web presence.

    These advanced solutions support cross-organisational data consumption, enhance data privacy and security and allow brands to create the web experiences they know customers will love.

    Matomo’s dashboard on a laptop.

    Matomo can help you unlock the potential of your website strategy with traditional and behavioural analytics and accurate data. Trusted by over 1 million websites, Matomo’s open-source software is an ethical web solution that helps organisations of all sizes improve decision-making and customer experiences without compromising on privacy or security.

    Start your free 21-day trial now. No credit card required.

  • What Is Incrementality & Why Is It Important in Marketing ?

    26 mars 2024, par Erin

    Imagine this : you just launched your latest campaign and it was a major success.

    You blew last month’s results out of the water.

    You combined a variety of tactics, channels and ad creatives to make it work.

    Now, it’s time to build the next campaign.

    The only issue ?

    You don’t know what made it successful or how much your recent efforts impacted the results.

    You’ve been building your brand for years. You’ve built up a variety of marketing pillars that are working for you. So, how do you know how much of your campaign is from years of effort or a new tactic you just implemented ?

    The key is incrementality.

    This is a way to properly attribute the right weight to your marketing tactics.

    In this article, we break down what incrementality is in marketing, how it differs from traditional attribution and how you can calculate and track it to grow your business.

    What is incrementality in marketing ?

    Incrementality in marketing is growth that can be directly credited to a marketing effort above and beyond the success of the branding.

    It looks at how much a specific tactic positively impacted a campaign on top of overall branding and marketing strategies.

    What is incrementally in marketing?

    For example, this could be how much a specific tactic, campaign or channel helped increase conversions, email sign-ups or organic traffic.

    The primary purpose of incrementally in marketing is to more accurately determine the impact a single marketing variable had on the success of a project.

    It removes every other factor and isolates the specific method to help marketers double down on that strategy or move on to new tactics.

    With Matomo, you can track conversions simply. With our last non-direct channel attribution system, you’ll be able to quickly see what channels are converting (and which aren’t) so you can gain insights into incrementality. 

    See why over 1 million websites choose Matomo today.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    How incrementality differs from attribution

    In marketing and advertising, it’s crucial to understand what tactics and activities drive growth.

    Incrementality and attribution help marketers and business owners understand what efforts impact their results.

    But they’re not the same.

    Here’s how they differ :

    Incrementality vs. attribution

    Incrementality explained

    Incrementality measures how much a specific marketing campaign or activity drives additional sales or growth.

    Simply put, it’s analysing the difference between having never implemented the campaign (or tactic or channel) in the first place versus the impact of the activity.

    In other words, how much revenue would you have generated this month without campaign A ?

    And how much additional revenue did you generate directly due to campaign A ?

    The reality is that dozens of factors impact revenue and growth.

    You aren’t just pouring your marketing into one specific channel or campaign at a time.

    Chances are, you’ve got your hands on several marketing initiatives like SEO, PPC, organic social media, paid search, email marketing and more.

    Beyond that, you’ve built a brand with a not-so-tangible impact on your recurring revenue.

    So, the question is, if you took away your new campaign, would you still be generating the same amount of revenue ?

    And, if you add in that campaign, how much additional revenue and growth did it directly create ?

    That is incrementality. It’s how much a campaign went above and beyond to add new revenue that wouldn’t have been there otherwise.

    So, how does attribution play into all of this ?

    Attribution explained

    Attribution is simply the process of assigning credit for a conversion to a particular marketing touchpoint.

    While incrementality is about narrowing down the overall revenue impact from a particular campaign, attribution seeks to point to a specific channel to attribute a sale.

    For example, in any given marketing campaign, you have a few marketing tactics.

    Let’s say you’re launching a limited-time product.

    You might have :

    • Paid ads via Facebook and Instagram
    • A blog post sharing how the product works
    • Organic social media posts on Instagram and TikTok
    • Email waitlist campaign building excitement around the upcoming product
    • SMS campaigns to share a limited-time discount

    So, when the time comes for the sale launch, and you generate $30,000 in revenue, what channel gets the credit ?

    Do you give credit to the paid ads on Facebook ? What about Instagram ? They got people to follow you and got them on the email waitlist.

    Do you give credit to email for reminding people of the upcoming sale ? What about your social media posts that reminded people there ?

    Or do you credit your SMS campaign that shared a limited-time discount ?

    Which channel is responsible for the sale ?

    This is what attribution is all about.

    It’s about giving credit where credit is due.

    The reason you want to attribute credit ? So you know what’s working and can double down your efforts on the high-impact marketing activities and channels.

    Leveraging incrementality and attribution together

    Incrementality and attribution aren’t competing methods of analysing what’s working.

    They’re complementary to one another and go hand in hand.

    You can (and should) use attribution and incrementality in your marketing to help understand what activities, campaigns and channels are making the biggest incremental impact on your business growth.

    Why it’s important to measure incrementality

    Incrementality is crucial to measure if you want to pour your time, money and effort into the right marketing channels and tactics.

    Here are a few reasons why you need to measure incrementality if you want to be successful with your marketing and grow your business :

    1. Accurate data

    If you want to be an effective marketer, you need to be accurate.

    You can’t blindly start marketing campaigns in hopes that you will sell many products or services.

    That’s not how it works.

    Sure, you’ll probably make some sales here and there. But to truly be effective with your work, you must measure your activities and channels correctly.

    Incrementality helps you see how each channel, tactic or campaign made a difference in your marketing.

    Matomo gives you 100% accurate data on your website activities. Unlike Google Analytics, we don’t use data sampling which limits how much data is analysed.

    Screenshot example of the Matomo dashboard

    2. Helps you to best determine the right tactics for success

    How can you plan your marketing strategy if you don’t know what’s working ?

    Think about it.

    You’ll be blindly sailing the seas without a compass telling you where to go.

    Measuring incrementality in your marketing tactics and channels helps you understand the best tactics.

    It shows you what’s moving the needle (and what’s not).

    Once you can see the most impactful tactics and channels, you can forge future campaigns that you know will work.

    3. Allows you to get the most out of your marketing budget

    Since incrementality sheds light on what’s moving your business forward, you can confidently implement your efforts on the right tactics and channels.

    Guess what happens when you start doubling down on the most impactful activities ?

    You start increasing revenue, decreasing ad spend and getting a higher return on investment.

    The result is that you will get more out of your marketing budget.

    Not only will you boost revenue, but you’ll also be able to boost profit margins since you’re not wasting money on ineffective tactics.

    4. Increase traffic

    When you see what’s truly working in your business, you can figure out what channels and tactics you should be working.

    Incrementality helps you understand not only what your best revenue tactics are but also what channels and campaigns are bringing in the most traffic.

    When you can increase traffic, you can increase your overall marketing impact.

    5. Increase revenue

    Finally, with increased traffic, the inevitable result is more conversions.

    More conversions mean more revenue.

    Incrementality gives you a vision of the tactics and channels that are converting the best.

    If you can see that your SMS campaigns are driving the best ROI, then you know that you’ll grow your revenue by pouring more into acquiring SMS leads.

    By calculating incrementality regularly, you can rest assured that you’re only investing time and money into the most impactful activities in terms of revenue generation.

    How to calculate and test incrementality in marketing

    Now that you understand how incrementality works and why it’s important to calculate, the question is : 

    How do you calculate and conduct incrementality tests ?

    Given the ever-changing marketing landscape, it’s crucial to understand how to calculate and test incrementally in your business.

    If you’re not sure how incrementality testing works, then follow these simple steps :

    How to test and analyze incrementality in marketing?

    Your first step to get an incrementality measurement is to conduct what’s referred to as a “holdout test.”

    It’s not a robust test, but it’s an easy way to get the ball rolling with incrementality.

    Here’s how it works :

    1. Choose your target audience.

    With Matomo’s segmentation feature, you can get pretty specific with your target audience, such as :

      • Visitors from the UK
      • Returning visitors
      • Mobile users
      • Visitors who clicked on a specific ad
    1. Split your audience into two groups :
      • Control group (60% of the segment)
      • Test group (40% of the segment)
    1. Target the control group with your marketing tactic (the simpler the tactic, the better).
    1. Target the test group with a different marketing tactic.
    1. Analyse the results. The difference between the control and test groups is the incremental lift in results. The new marketing tactic is either more effective or not.
    1. Repeat the test with a new control group (with an updated tactic) and a new test group (with a new tactic).

    Matomo can help you analyse the results of your campaigns in our Goals feature. Set up business objectives so you can easily track different goals like conversions.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    Here’s an example of how this incrementality testing could look in real life.

    Imagine a fitness retailer wants to start showing Facebook ads in their marketing mix.

    The marketing manager decided to conduct a holdout test. If we match our example below with the steps above, this is how the holdout test might look.

    1. They choose people who’ve purchased free weights in the past as their target audience (see how that segmentation works ?).
    2. They split this segment into a control group and a test group.
    3. For this test, they direct their regular marketing campaign to the control group (60% of the segment). The campaign includes promoting a 20% off sale on organic social media posts, email marketing, and SMS.
    4. They direct their regular marketing campaign plus Facebook ads to the test group (40% of the segment).
    5. They ran the campaign for three weeks with the goal for sale conversions and noticed :
      • The control group had a 1.5% conversion rate.
      • The test group (with Facebook ads) had a 2.1% conversion rate.
      • In this scenario, they could see the group who saw the Facebook ads convert better.
      • They created the following formula to measure the incremental lift of the Facebook ads :
    Calculation: Incrementality in marketing.
      • Here’s how the calculation works out : (2.1% – 1.5%) / 1.5% = 40%

    The Facebook ads had a positive 40% incremental lift in conversions during the sale.

    Incrementality testing isn’t a one-and-done process, though.

    While this first test is a great sign for the marketing manager, it doesn’t mean they should immediately throw all their money into Facebook ads.

    They should continue conducting tests to verify the initial test.

    Use Matomo to track incrementality today

    Incrementality can give you insights into exactly what’s working in your marketing (and what’s not) so you can design proven strategies to grow your business.

    If you want more help tracking your marketing efforts, try Matomo today.

    Our web analytics and behaviour analytics platform gives you firsthand data on your website visitors you can use to craft effective marketing strategies.

    Matomo provides 100% accurate data. Unlike other major web analytics platforms, we don’t do data sampling. What you see is what’s really going on in your website. That way, you can make more informed decisions for better results.

    At Matomo, we take privacy very seriously and include several advanced privacy protections to ensure you are in full control.

    As a fully compliant web analytics solution, we’re fully compliant with some of the world’s strictest privacy regulations like GDPR. With Matomo, you get peace of mind knowing you can make data-driven decisions while also being compliant. 

    If you’re ready to launch a data-driven marketing strategy today and grow your business, get started with our 21-day free trial now. No credit card required.

  • How to compress videos on AMD RX 7900 XTX with ffmpeg ? [closed]

    19 novembre 2024, par cprn

    On Nvidia's GTX 1070 I used to do the below command, and it'd produce a way smaller file (often less than half of the original) without any visible degradation (at least for my eyes) :

    


    ffmpeg -hwaccel cuda -i file.mp4 -c:v hevc_nvenc -crf 20 file.small.mp4


    


    Now I switched to AMD's RX 7900 XTX and this command obviously doesn't work.

    


    What's the "equivalent" of that command ? As in : getting way smaller file with seemingly no quality loss.

    


    What I tried :

    


      

    1. av1_nvenc ends up in errors :
    2. 


    


    ffmpeg -hwaccel vaapi -hwaccel_device /dev/dri/renderD128 -hwaccel_output_format vaapi -i file.mp4 -c:v av1_nvenc file.small.mp4


    


    Impossible to convert between the formats supported by the filter 'Parsed_null_0' and the filter 'auto_scale_0'
[vf#0:0 @ 0x60f7c1aa7d80] Error reinitializing filters!
[vf#0:0 @ 0x60f7c1aa7d80] Task finished with error code: -38 (Function not implemented)
[vf#0:0 @ 0x60f7c1aa7d80] Terminating thread with return code -38 (Function not implemented)
[vost#0:0/av1_nvenc @ 0x60f7c1b10040] Could not open encoder before EOF
[vost#0:0/av1_nvenc @ 0x60f7c1b10040] Task finished with error code: -22 (Invalid argument)
[vost#0:0/av1_nvenc @ 0x60f7c1b10040] Terminating thread with return code -22 (Invalid argument)
[out#0/mp4 @ 0x60f7c1b0d680] Nothing was written into output file, because at least one of its streams received no packets.


    


      

    1. hevc_vaapi goes through the encoding, but produces 20% bigger files instead of smaller :
    2. 


    


    ffmpeg -hwaccel vaapi -hwaccel_device /dev/dri/renderD128 -hwaccel_output_format vaapi -i file.mp4 -c:v hevc_vaapi file.small.mp4


    


    No idea what I'm doing. I know next to nothing about video encoding, just what I read in the documentation, and I'm stuck. Also, I'm on Linux, but this shouldn't matter, I think.

    


    FFmpeg info :

    


    ❯ ffmpeg -version
ffmpeg version n7.1 Copyright (c) 2000-2024 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 14.2.1 (GCC) 20240910
configuration: --prefix=/usr --disable-debug --disable-static --disable-stripping --enable-amf --enable-avisynth --enable-cuda-llvm --enable-lto --enable-fontconfig --enable-frei0r --enable-gmp --enable-gnutls --enable-gpl --enable-ladspa --enable-libaom --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libbs2b --enable-libdav1d --enable-libdrm --enable-libdvdnav --enable-libdvdread --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libglslang --enable-libgsm --enable-libharfbuzz --enable-libiec61883 --enable-libjack --enable-libjxl --enable-libmodplug --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore_amrnb --enable-libopencore_amrwb --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopenmpt --enable-libopus --enable-libplacebo --enable-libpulse --enable-librav1e --enable-librsvg --enable-librubberband --enable-libsnappy --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libsrt --enable-libssh --enable-libsvtav1 --enable-libtheora --enable-libv4l2 --enable-libvidstab --enable-libvmaf --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpl --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libx265 --enable-libxcb --enable-libxml2 --enable-libxvid --enable-libzimg --enable-libzmq --enable-nvdec --enable-nvenc --enable-opencl --enable-opengl --enable-shared --enable-vapoursynth --enable-version3 --enable-vulkan
libavutil      59. 39.100 / 59. 39.100
libavcodec     61. 19.100 / 61. 19.100
libavformat    61.  7.100 / 61.  7.100
libavdevice    61.  3.100 / 61.  3.100
libavfilter    10.  4.100 / 10.  4.100
libswscale      8.  3.100 /  8.  3.100
libswresample   5.  3.100 /  5.  3.100
libpostproc    58.  3.100 / 58.  3.100